LibGuides: Consumer Health Resources: Consumer Health Databases

Consumer Health Databases

The following databases index thousands of medical journals and offer many quality, peer-reviewed sources. Some of the databases offer full-text articles to the public for free.

Open Access Resource Databases

Get access to information similar to what is used by medical professionals and medical students. Find scholarly information, including textbooks and peer-reviewed journal articles, on your health concern/topic of interest by searching one of these databases.

Open Textbook Library Search, Center for Open Education, University of Minnesota
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ),
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.

DOAJ operates an education and outreach program across the globe, focussing on improving the quality of applications submitted.