Skip to main content

International Relations

For More Statistics & Data...

This page contains some basic data sets used by scholars in International Relations.

For a much more comprehensive list of data and statistics of interest in IR and the Social Sciences, please see the Statistics & Data guide, found here.

NVivo

NVivo is licensed so all faculty, students, and staff can install and use it. Download here

There is a great deal of help directly built-in with the software. Product feature comparison between what can be done on the Windows versus OSX versions of the software is available.

Some basic data sets to start

China Data Online 
1952-present; collection of statistical materials including: Monthly Statistics, National Statistics, Provincial Statistics, Monthly Industrial Data, Yearly Industrial Data, Statistics with Map & Charts, and Statistical Yearbooks.

Europa World Year Book 
Current; Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book. One of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. Includes comparative statistics and international organizations.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research  
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.

Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (United Nations) 
Current; monthly economic statistics for most the countries and areas of the world. In addition, each month a different selection of special tables is presented showing annual and/or quarterly data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic long-term trends and developments. {This resource is publicly available.]

OECD Health Statistics
Current; OECD Health Data is a source of comparable statistics on health and health care systems of the OECD economies. It enables health researchers and policy advisors in governments, the private sector and the academic community to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from cross-country comparisons of national health care systems. Many time series going back as far as 1960. Main fields covered include:
* Health Status * Health Care Resources * Health Care Utilisation * Expenditure on Health * Health Care Financing * Social Protection * Pharmaceutical Market * Non-medical Determinants of Health * Demographic References * Economic References


* Oxford Economics: http://www.oxfordeconomics.com

 

* United Nations: http://www.unece.org/stats/links.html One of the more comprehensive lists of statistical web sites for foreign and international information is at the


World Development Indicators  

Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.