Skip to main content

ITAL2100 Introduction to Italian Studies

This seminar is a requirement for students enrolled in the doctoral program in Italian Studies. It is also open to Italian Studies concentrators and graduate or advanced undergraduate students from other programs interested in Italian studies.

Digital Humanities and the Future of Libraries

CLIR Reports

The Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR) has published more than 150 reports on topics relating to preservation, digital libraries, economics of information, trends in information use, international developments, and the changing role of the library.

The full text of most CLIR publications is available through this link.

Some examples:

No Brief Candle: Reconceiving Research Libraries for the 21st Century. Report 142.

Working Together or Apart: Promoting the Next Generation of Digital Scholarship. Report 145.

The Idea of Order: Transforming Research Collections for 21st Century Scholarship. Report 147.

Articles from databases

Academic Search Premier  full text icon  
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index  
1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.

FRANCIS  
1984-present; through an international perspective, FRANCIS provides citations to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences. Topics include: art, psychology, information science, archaeology, ethnology, geography, business management, history of science and technology, history and science of religion, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and protohistory, sociology, education and more. Citations include journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and doctoral dissertations.

Historical Abstracts  
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.

MLA International Bibliography  
1926-present; the MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.

Direct Link to Articles

The Research Library in the Digital Age. Robert Darnton

Robert Darnton is Harvard’s Carl H. Pforzheimer University Professor and Director of the University Library. An alumnus of Harvard College and Harvard’s Society of Fellows,a former Rhodes Scholar and MacArthur Fellow, and Chevalier of France’s Légion d’Honneur, Darnton is an internationally recognized scholar on the history of the book and the literary world of Enlightenment France. In June 2008, The New York Review of Books published this article under the title “The Library in the New Age.”