LibGuides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V

A
Africana Studies
by Holly Snyder - Last Updated Jul 10, 2014
American Studies
by Jean Bauer - Last Updated Jan 29, 2014
Anthropology
by Carina Cournoyer - Last Updated Apr 23, 2014
Applied Mathematics
by Lee Pedersen - Last Updated Jan 31, 2014
Resources for library research on applied math-related topics
Archaeology
by Ian Straughn - Last Updated Oct 18, 2013
A guide to resources, digital projects and specialized topics for the study of archaeology as an interdisciplinary field of research on the past and present.
B
BIARI resources
by Bruce Boucek, Elli Mylonas, Patrick Rashleigh, Ian Straughn - Last Updated Jun 11, 2014
Selected information about the library for BIARI scholars
Bio-Ethics
by William S. Monroe - Last Updated Dec 19, 2013
BIOL 1920B Health Inequality in Historical Perspective
by Laura Pavlech, Holly Snyder - Last Updated Jul 21, 2014
This seminar course takes a historical perspective to explore the fundamental causes of health inequality in the US. We will draw on a series of case studies from the 19th century to the present.
Biology
by Laura Pavlech - Last Updated Jul 21, 2014
BUL for Faculty
by Carina Cournoyer, Erika Sevetson, Ian Straughn - Last Updated Jun 18, 2014
Services and information relating to faculty experience of the library and its resources
C
Campus On Fire (EDUC0400)
by Sarah Bordac - Last Updated Dec 9, 2013
CEBN 0927 Neuroscience in Action
by Laura Pavlech - Last Updated Jul 21, 2014
Chemistry
by Lee Pedersen - Last Updated Mar 17, 2014
Resources for library research on chemistry-related topics
Chinese Studies
by Li Wang - Last Updated Jun 4, 2014
Citation and Copyright
by Jean Bauer, Sarah Bordac, Karen Bouchard, William S. Monroe, Elli Mylonas, Lee Pedersen, Edwin Quist, Holly Snyder, Ian Straughn - Last Updated Jul 10, 2014
Information on plagiarism, citation management software, copyright, fair use, creative commons
Classics
by William S. Monroe - Last Updated Dec 18, 2013
Clinical resources
by Erika Sevetson - Last Updated Apr 23, 2014
Cognitive, Linguistic & Psychological Sciences Research Guide
by Laura Pavlech - Last Updated Jul 21, 2014
This guide will help you start your research for cognitive science, linguistics, & psychology classes and projects
Community Organizing Archive
by Jennifer Betts, Holly Snyder - Last Updated Jul 7, 2014
Joint project of the University Library and Swearer Center for Public Service. Comprised of archival and manuscript papers of activists (with a focus on Brown alumni) engaged in public service through non-governmental organizations.
Comparative Literature
by William S. Monroe - Last Updated Sep 18, 2013
Computer Science
by Andrew Creamer - Last Updated Jul 7, 2014
Copyright Primer
by Edwin Quist - Last Updated Oct 7, 2013
Resources for copyright
D
Data Curation
by Jean Bauer, Bruce Boucek, Andrew Creamer, Elli Mylonas - Last Updated Sep 20, 2013
This website outlines the basics of data curation, gives pointers on best practices, and provides a portal into the services available through the Brown University Library.
Databases A-Z Resource List
by Anne Cerstvik Nolan - Last Updated Jul 18, 2014
This guide contains a full list of resources organized by name.
Development Studies
by Li Wang - Last Updated Jan 31, 2014
E
Early Cultures
by William S. Monroe - Last Updated Sep 18, 2013
East Asian Studies
by Li Wang - Last Updated Mar 11, 2014
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology EEB
by Laura Pavlech - Last Updated Jul 21, 2014
Economics
by Carina Cournoyer - Last Updated Feb 27, 2014
Education Resources
by Sarah Bordac - Last Updated Apr 10, 2014
Egyptology
by William S. Monroe - Last Updated Feb 13, 2014
Endnote
by Erika Sevetson, Ian Straughn - Last Updated Jul 17, 2014
This guide offers instruction and information about the latest version of this popular citation manager available to the Brown community.
Engineering
by Lee Pedersen - Last Updated Jan 31, 2014
Resources for library research on engineering-related topics
English Subject Guide
by Jean Bauer - Last Updated Jan 16, 2014
The English Subject Guide is a launch pad for scholarly research in the field of English Literature. Here you will find tips for searching the web more effectively along with annotated lists of primary and secondary source materials.
ENGN1490 Biomaterials
by Lee Pedersen - Last Updated Oct 23, 2013
Resources and information
Environmental Studies
by Bruce Boucek - Last Updated Aug 8, 2013
This guide provides resources for Environmental Studies scholarship and research.
ETHN1890H: Introduction to American Indian Studies
by Holly Snyder - Last Updated Mar 3, 2014
Covers historical and contemporary issues in North America, looking at identity, sovereignty, representation and self-representation. This interdisciplinary course uses texts from anthropology, cultural studies, history, film and literature
Exploring the Fourth Dimension FYS MATH0010B
by Lee Pedersen - Last Updated Sep 20, 2013
Professor Thomas F. Banchoff
F
Federal Government Information on the Web
by Daniel O'Mahony - Last Updated Jun 20, 2013
A brief list of popular web sites from U.S. federal government agencies.
Finding and Using Images
by Karen Bouchard - Last Updated Jun 26, 2014
Finding Historical Sources
by Holly Snyder - Last Updated Feb 4, 2014
Assistance in identifying materials for research on historical topics in the collections of the Brown University Library and elsewhere
FREN1510 - A Table!
by Patricia Figueroa - Last Updated May 15, 2014
Cours d'Annie Wiart sur le thème de la cuisine et gastronomie françaises
French and Francophone Studies
by Patricia Figueroa, William S. Monroe - Last Updated May 15, 2014
Bienvenue! In this guide you will find resources and tools to help you study the French language and research French literature and culture.
G
Gender Studies
by Sarah Bordac - Last Updated Jun 24, 2014
Geological Sciences
by Lee Pedersen - Last Updated Jan 31, 2014
Resources for library research on geological sciences-related topics
German Studies Guide
by William S. Monroe, Laura Stokes - Last Updated Jun 10, 2014
Willkommen! In this guide you will find resources and tools to help you study the German language and research German literature, philosophy and culture.
Global Health
by Erika Sevetson - Last Updated Feb 11, 2014
GNSS1960B: Health and Healing in American History
by Holly Snyder - Last Updated Feb 28, 2014
Surveys history of American medicine in its social and political contexts, including changing understandings of disease, treatment practice, and medical institutions. Explores how gender and race have informed ways of making sense out of pain and disease
GORHAM COMPANY ARCHIVE
by Holly Snyder - Last Updated May 10, 2013
More than 6,000 linear feet of records dating back to the founding of the Gorham Manufacturing Company in 1831
Grant Finding: Library Services and Support
by Bruce Boucek, Lee Pedersen, Erika Sevetson, Ian Straughn - Last Updated Jun 18, 2014
This guide provides information about various products and services supported by BUL for grant finding. Special focus is given to Pivot/CoS.
H
Haitian Studies
by Patricia Figueroa, Holly Snyder - Last Updated May 15, 2014
Health Sciences guides
by Erika Sevetson - Last Updated Jul 21, 2014
Healthcare Leadership
by Carina Cournoyer, Erika Sevetson - Last Updated Jan 6, 2014
Executive Master's in Health Care Leadership
HIST1801: Religion, Politics, and Culture in America, 1865 to Present
by Holly Snyder - Last Updated Feb 4, 2014
Religion has played an undeniable role in the contemporary American cultural landscape. This course lends some perspective on the present by investigating the various and, at times, surprising role religion has played in the shaping of American Culture
HIST1978O: Enslaved! Indians and Africans in an Unfree Atlantic World
by Holly Snyder - Last Updated Feb 28, 2014
This course examines the varieties of Indian and African enslavement in the Atlantic world, including North America, up through 1800. Reading widely, it will ponder the origins, practices, meanings, and varieties of enslavement.
History of Great Britain & Ireland
by Holly Snyder - Last Updated Feb 18, 2014
History (Eastern European/Balkans)
by William S. Monroe - Last Updated Mar 21, 2014
History (General & Modern)
by William S. Monroe - Last Updated Jan 29, 2014
History of France
by William S. Monroe - Last Updated May 15, 2014
History of Germany
by William S. Monroe - Last Updated May 15, 2014
History of Science in Society
by Holly Snyder - Last Updated Mar 19, 2014
History of Sub-Saharan Africa
by Holly Snyder - Last Updated Mar 19, 2014
I
IE Brown Executive MBA
by Carina Cournoyer - Last Updated Mar 11, 2014
International Relations
by Carina Cournoyer - Last Updated Mar 11, 2014
Islamic Studies
by Ian Straughn - Last Updated May 5, 2014
This guide provides resources for a wide variety of topics related to the academic study of Islam and Muslims. Historical and contemporary issues are covered as well as relations with other religious communities within the Islamic world.
IT0981-S01 - When Leaders Lie: Machiavelli in International Context
by Patricia Figueroa - Last Updated Mar 6, 2014
A seminar to introduce students to the writing of Niccolò Machiavelli (1469-1527).
IT2100: Introduction to Italian Studies
by Patricia Figueroa - Last Updated Mar 6, 2014
This seminar is a requirement for students enrolled in the doctoral program in Italian Studies. It is also open to Italian Studies concentrators and graduate or advanced undergraduate students from other programs interested in Italian studies.
Italian Studies
by Patricia Figueroa - Last Updated Feb 7, 2014
J
Japanese Studies
by Li Wang - Last Updated Jan 31, 2014
Judaic Studies (Modern Period)
by Holly Snyder - Last Updated Feb 18, 2014
1500-Present
K
Kitchen Chemistry
by Lee Pedersen - Last Updated Mar 17, 2014
A custom website of resources recommended to the students in FYS CHEM0080F for the literature research for writing assignments.
Korean Studies
by Li Wang - Last Updated Mar 11, 2014
L
Language Studies
by Patricia Figueroa - Last Updated May 15, 2014
This guide will help you start your research for Language Studies classes and projects.
Leadership Alliance
by Sarah Bordac - Last Updated Jun 5, 2012
Summer 2012
Library Innovation Prize 2014
by Andrew Ashton, Edwin Quist - Last Updated Feb 12, 2014
Literary Arts
by Karen Bouchard - Last Updated Jun 30, 2014
M
Mathematics
by Lee Pedersen - Last Updated Feb 3, 2014
Resources for library research on "pure" mathematics-related topics
Medieval Studies
by William S. Monroe - Last Updated Dec 19, 2013
Middle East Studies
by Ian Straughn - Last Updated Dec 5, 2013
Scholarly and research related resources for the region stretching from North Africa to Iran
Modern Culture and Media
by Elli Mylonas - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
Modern Greek Studies
by Elli Mylonas - Last Updated Jan 17, 2014
Subject Guide for the Modern Greek Studies Program
Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, and Biochemistry MCB
by Laura Pavlech - Last Updated Jul 21, 2014
For academic department: Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry MCB.
Monsters of the Abyss: Oceanography and Sea Tales FYS GEOL0160N
by Lee Pedersen - Last Updated Oct 15, 2013
Created 9/24/13 for students in GEOL0160N FYS
Music
by Laura Stokes - Last Updated Jun 13, 2014
N
Neuroscience
by Laura Pavlech, Erika Sevetson - Last Updated Jul 21, 2014
Newspapers in the Brown University Library
by Edwin Quist - Last Updated Jan 23, 2014
Technology has had a big impact on newspapers, and many of them are now online. This guide is designed to help users determine which newspapers in the Library are in print, and which are in microfilm, images, or plain text.
Nonfiction Writing Program in the Department of English
by Jean Bauer - Last Updated Jun 12, 2013
Resources for students in Brown University's NonFiction Writing Program.
O
Online Video Resources
by Edwin Quist - Last Updated Jun 12, 2014
P
Philosophy
by William S. Monroe - Last Updated Sep 18, 2013
PHP0030 Health of Hispaniola
by Patricia Figueroa, Erika Sevetson - Last Updated Feb 11, 2014
1. Compare and contrast the Dominican Republic and Haiti to identify factors which have resulted in divergent health outcomes; 2. Use this understanding to develop a model of health determinants to apply to other developing countries.
Physics
by Lee Pedersen - Last Updated Jan 31, 2014
Resources for library research on physics- and astronomy-related topics
Political Science
by Carina Cournoyer - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
Politics and Public Education (EDUC1060)
by Sarah Bordac - Last Updated Nov 18, 2013
EDUC1060-S01 Politics and Public Education
PRIME
by Carina Cournoyer, Lee Pedersen - Last Updated Mar 11, 2014
Public Health
by Erika Sevetson - Last Updated Jul 7, 2014
Resources for the Brown Public Health program
Public Health in Latin America and the Caribbean Region
by Patricia Figueroa - Last Updated Sep 17, 2012
This guide covers the main electronic resources as well as international programs and institutions pertaining to public health in Latin America and the Caribbean region.
Public Humanities
by Karen Bouchard - Last Updated Jul 1, 2014
R
Reference
by Edwin Quist - Last Updated Nov 6, 2013
Online general reference resources
Religious Studies
by William S. Monroe - Last Updated Sep 18, 2013
Renaissance & Early Modern Studies
by William S. Monroe - Last Updated Sep 18, 2013
Research Beyond Google
by Carina Cournoyer - Last Updated Apr 25, 2013
Resources for teaching and learning, available locally and through the open Web.
Research Help
by Mark Baumer, Sarah Bordac, Karen Bouchard, Carina Cournoyer, Lee Pedersen, Erika Sevetson - Last Updated May 16, 2014
Starting point for research in Humanities, Social Sciences, Life Sciences and Physical Sciences
Researching American Conservatism
by Holly Snyder - Last Updated Jul 7, 2014

Manuscript holdings at the John Hay Library include a variety of materials from which to research 20th century American Conservatism, principally found in two collections: the Hall Hoag Collection and the records of the John Birch Society.
Researching Slavery and the Slave Trade
by Holly Snyder - Last Updated Feb 28, 2014
S
Slavic Languages
by Edwin Quist - Last Updated Oct 10, 2013
South Asian Studies
by Ian Straughn - Last Updated Jan 21, 2014
This guide offers a set of resources available to Brown users covering the region of South Asia (India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Burma, Bangladesh, Bhutan and parts of Central Asia).
Sports in American History (HIST 0970S)
by Sarah Bordac - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Statistical Sciences & Biostatistics
by Bruce Boucek, Erika Sevetson - Last Updated Dec 13, 2013
A guide to statistical science and biostatistics resources available at the Brown University Library
T
The Arab Spring 2011-present
by Ian Straughn - Last Updated Nov 15, 2013
This guide will serve as a gateway to library and internet resources for understanding the contemporary uprisings and socio-political transformations in the Middle East
Theatre Arts and Performance Studies
by Laura Stokes - Last Updated Jun 13, 2014
Theory and Practice of Foreign Language Learning & Teaching
by Patricia Figueroa - Last Updated May 29, 2014
This guide offers starting points for your research for the course: "Theory and Practice of Foreign Language Learning & Teaching".
Tools-Standardized Boxes
by Mark Baumer - Last Updated Mar 26, 2014
U
University Archives and Manuscripts
by Jennifer Betts - Last Updated Jul 3, 2014
Information about how to conduct research in University Archives and Manuscripts.
Urban Studies
by Bruce Boucek - Last Updated Aug 9, 2013
This guide provides resources for Urban Studies scholarship and research.
V
Visual Art Resources
by Karen Bouchard - Last Updated Jun 30, 2014

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts

Featured Librarian

Profile Image
Carina Cournoyer
Contact Info
Brown University
Box A
10 Prospect St.
Providence, RI 02912
Office: Rock A-16
Send Email