Skip to main content

History of Art and Architecture Resources

Finding Articles in Databases

On this page, you will find links to specialized databases for art,
architecture, film, fashion, and arch
aeology.  These databases
are where you will find citations and often
full-text links to articles from journals in these subject areas, as
well as some citations to books and book chapters.

For most article searches, you can start with the General Resources box immediately
below, and then move on to more specific subject related databases.

A great place to start for general information on artists,
movements, sites, and more is this online encyclopedia.

(Please see the Reference Works page
for many more encyclopedias and dictionaries.)

Ugo da Carpi, poss. after Raphael. Sibyl Reading.
woodcut ca. 1500-1525. Luna Collection.

General Resources

 

Landshut, Germany. Altstadt. 15th-16th centuries. Photo by Karen Bouchard. Luna Collection.

Architecture Resources

 

Seaside. 2004. Planners Robert Davis, Andres Duany, and Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk. Photo by Karen Bouchard. Luna Collection.

Ancient Art & Archaeology

 

Puerco Pueblo Petroglyphs, Petrified Forest, Arizona. Photo by Karen Bouchard. Luna Collection.

 

Medieval and Renaissance Resources

 

Sankt Johannes Kirke, Sønderby, Denmark. 1615. Photo by Karen Bouchard. Luna Collection.

Non-Western Art & Architecture Resources

 

Ksar of Ait-Ben-Haddou, Morocco. Photo by Dietrich Neumann. Luna Collection.

For additional resources see also the East Asian Studies Resource Guide , the South Asian Studies Resource Guide, and the Africana Studies Resource Guide.

 

RISD Resources

Note: Members of the Brown community must go to the Rhode Island School of Design Library in order to access licensed resources. They are not accessible to non-RISD patrons from off campus.

For RISD Image databases, please see the Images tab of this guide.

Pierfrancesco Alberti after Raphael. A Painter's Academy in Rome. Engraving, ca. 1600. Luna Collection.

Additional Resources

 

Enea Vico. The Academy of Baccio Bandinelli. Engraving, 1561-1562. Luna Collection.