Skip to main content

IE Brown Executive MBA

Data resources & reports

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Current and historical; U.S. Department of Commerce; BEA provides data on U.S. domestic production, consumption, and investment; exports and imports; and national and domestic income and savings. BEA also provides data on U.S. regional, industry, and international accounts.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Current and historical; U.S. Department of Labor; BLS provides data on employment, prices, working conditions, productivity and technology. Data can be customized for download.

ProQuest Business Collection   full text icon   
Current; a comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong U.S. and international coverage in business and the social sciences.
This eresource is on trial through June 28, 2013. Please send feedback to Carina_Cournoyer@brown.edu.

RefUSA  full text icon  
Current; this database of 14 million US Businesses contains verified, accurate data and is updated monthly. Selection criteria include: business name, executive title, business type, sales volume, employee size, and year established.

World Development Indicators  full text icon  
Published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Business Cases

Specialized data resources

Gartner Core Research Service  full text icon  
Gartner Core Research provides research and advice about information technology for decision makers to capitalize on IT technologies and markets. 

NCCS (National Center for Charitable Statistics) Data Web  full text icon  
1989-present: NCCS Data Web, maintained by the National Center for Charitable Statistics, offers a weath of data about the non-profit sector in the United States. Data include the Busines Master File (BMF), which has descriptive data on organizations registered with the IRS; IRS Return Transaction Files (RTF), which contains financial data for organizations that file IRS Forms 990, Form 990-EZ, or Form 990-PF; and IRS Statistics of Income Sample Files (SOI), which has 300 variables for 501(c)(3) organizations.