Skip to main content

South Asian Studies

This guide offers a set of resources available to Brown users covering the region of South Asia (India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Burma, Bangladesh, Bhutan and parts of Central Asia).

Newspaper Access and databases

ProQuest Historical Newspapers   full text icon   
These historical newspapers offer full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Please click on the links below to search each newspaper. To search more than one newspaper at the same time, click on one of your titles, then use the link for "News and Newspapers" to open the selection box and uncheck the boxes for any newspapers that you do not wish to search. Brown University Library subscribes to:
Historical Times of India

South Asian Newspapers   full text icon   
1864-1922; features titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and others. Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).

SAMP South Asian Microfilm Project
Brown Library is a member and is entitled to borrow, via Interlibrary Loan or by fax or electronic document delivery, all SAMP-funded material in accordance with CRL’s lending policies. These materials are available through the Center for Research Libraries’ online catalog, and in OCLC. http://catalog.crl.edu/ Since its inauguration, SAMP has acquired or filmed more than 23,000 scholarly publications, newspapers, and government documents. Cooperation with national archives and libraries such as the British Library (particularly the Oriental and India Office Collections from the former India Office Library), the Nehru Memorial Museum and Library, and the Library of Congress Field Offices in South Asia has helped build a diverse collection of texts in microform including: reports from the British East India Company, journals from scholarly societies, personal papers of researchers, pamphlets, and posters. Recent acquisitions have included microfilms of the nineteenth-century Hindi, Urdu, and Panjabi titles held by the British Library as well as a collection of rare land settlement reports.

Library PressDisplay   full text icon   
Current (last 60 days); Library PressDisplay is an online newspaper portal which offers over 1000 newspapers from 83 countries in 40 languages.

LexisNexis Academic   full text icon       mobile icon
Current; said to be the world's largest full-text, online database, containing more than a billion full-text articles, citation abstracts, and documents. Emphasis is on current news and legal and business information. For help in getting started, see Introduction to LexisNexis Video Tutorial.

Ethnic NewsWatch and ENW: A History   full text icon   
1980-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. ENW: A History covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.

International Union List of South Asian Newspapers and Gazzettes he International Union List of South Asian Newspapers and Gazettes has been compiled by Irene Joshi. This union list contains information on 3,000 newspapers and gazettes published in South Asia and abroad, including publications serving diaspora communities world-wide.

Other links:

                  A reasonably comprehensive listing of new sources organized by region and then country

  • South Asia Media net
    The South Asian Media Net is an independent and comprehensive website providing in-depth news coverage from across the South Asian region. It covers all seven countries of South Asia – Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Maldives and Bhutan – as well as Afghanistan, and brings together news, views, analyses and information from a diverse collection of sources under one banner.
    This daily news service is free and provides you with the latest headlines/news from across the worl