Skip to main content

South Asian Studies

This guide offers a set of resources available to Brown users covering the region of South Asia (India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Burma, Bangladesh, Bhutan and parts of Central Asia).

Bibliographies

General
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)

Environment
Environmentalism in South Asia, an online resource list, UC Berkeley Library

Film
Short Research Bibliography on Hindi Cinema, compiled by Vinay Lal, UCLA
Audio/Video Resources for South Asian Studies, maintained by Tim Bryson, Emory University, for SARAI

Law
Cooperative Annotated Bibliography of Hindu Law and Dharmas'a-stra, maintained by Professor Donald R. Davis, Jr. (U.W. Madison), Torrey Goad and Scott Resnick

Social and Political Issues
Conflict in Kashmir, an internet resource list, UC Berkeley Library
Dalit Bibliography, compiled by Simon Charsley, Glasgow University
SACW's A-Z Index on Communalism, South Asia Citizen's Web
Economic Reforms in India, a bibliography compiled by Marcus Lindemann, University of Essex
Human Rights in South Asia, an internet resource list, UC Berkeley Library
Bibliography for Research on Human Rights in Asia, Akiko Hosotani, Univ. of Minnesota Human Rights Library
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues in India: A bibliography compiled by Robert K. Hitchcock, on the website of the American Anthropological Association
Labor in South Asia, a paired bibliography and internet resource list, UC Berkeley Library
Nuclear Issues in India and Pakistan, an internet resource list, UC Berkeley Library
ProPoor, a searchable dabatase of NGOs
Social Movements in South Asia, an internet resource list, UC Berkeley Library

History
Primary Documents for the Study of Indian History, bibliography prepared by Vinay Lal, UCLA
Select Research Bibliography on the Partition of India, compiled by Vinay Lal, UCLA
Web Resources for South Asian History, an internet resource list, UC Berkeley Library
Subaltern Studies, including the complete books in the series, and a bibliography of reviews and articles, at the University of Virginia Library
The Indian City, 1700 to the Present: A Select Research Bibliography, compiled by Vinay Lal, UCLA

Literature
Alphabetical list of Published Rajasthani (Middle Marvari) Vatas, Batas & Varatas, compiled by Richard Saran
Amir Khusro Bibliography, compiled by Yousuf Saeed
A Bibliography of Hindi Literature in English Translation compiled by Irene Joshi, University of Washington Libraries, Seattle
A Bibliography of Malayalam Literature in English Translation compiled by Irene Joshi, University of Washington Libraries, Seattle

Pakistan
Pakistan Bibliography, from Pakistan A Country Study, Library of Congress, Federal Research Division

South Asian Diaspora
The Indian Diaspora, articles and internet resources on Manas, website designed by Vinay Lal, UCLA
South Asian Diaspora Bibliographic Guides, UC Berkeley Library
South Asian Diaspora Literature in English, compiled by Irene Joshi, University of Washington Libraries

Southeast Asia
Southeast Asia resources, a list including bibliographies and internet resources, prepared by the South/Southeast Library at UC Berkeley

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka Bibliography, from Sri Lanka A Country Study, Library of Congress, Federal Research Division

Tibet
Proceedings of the International Association for Tibetan Studies (PIATS), a list, University of Michigan Library

Women's Studies
Guide to Writings by or About Women in Pre-Independent India, compiled by Donald Clay Johnson, Ames Library, University of Minnesota
Indian Women and Violence, a bibliography, on the H-Asia listserv
Literature Written by South Asian Women, bibliography compiled by Irene Joshi, University of Washington Libraries, Seattle

*Find more bibliographies listed on SARAI*

Reference Works

General Reference
Guide to Basic Reference Sources, UC Berkeley Library.
Key reference sources are available on DSAL (including the Archaeological Survey of India, and the Imperial Gazetteer of India).

Legal Reference
Indlaw is an electronic legal library of various legal documents including constitutional texts, parliamentary debates, case law, Parliamentary and State enactments in both India and the U.K.
*User note: be sure to review the very thorough Search Tips.*

Manuscripts
Manuscript Resources, indexes and catalogs, on SARAI.

Maps and Cities
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection, an excellent collection of digital maps for the countries and regions of South Asia, at the University of Texas.
Digital maps, a growing collection of maps online, DSAL.
Maps and Geography of South Asia, a listing of online resources, SARAI.
Late 19th-/Early 20th-Century Asian Cities, Map Collection, University of Chicago.
Digital Library of historic and contemporary sites on Archnet, an international Online community dedicated to architecture, planning, and landscape design developed at MIT and University of Texas, Austin.
Also see Reference: Maps for digital and print resources, University of Michigan Libraries South Asia Division.

Newspapers and Serials
List of Holdings of Newspapers and Serials at the Center for Research Libraries (SAMP).
Journal, Periodical and Newspaper Information, on SARAI.
International Union List of South Asian Newspapers and Gazettes, with information on newspapers and gazettes published in South Asia, and also publications serving diaspora communities worldwide. Compiled by Irene Joshi formerly of the University of Washington Libaries and available online on DSAL.
Serials Acquired by the Library of Congress for Participating U.S. Libraries. A catalog of South Asian serials acquisitions that includes information about holding libraries.
Newspapers and Journals Microfilmed by the Library of Congress, New Delhi.
Online journals, listing, UC Berkeley Library.
Online journals, listing, SARAI.

Pamphlets
Pamphlet Collections Microfiched by Library of Congress, New Delhi.

Visual Culture
Tasveer Ghar, a digital network of South Asian popular culture and arts with links to online resources.