Skip to main content

Citation and Copyright

Information on plagiarism, citation management software, copyright, fair use, creative commons

Topics

Access RefWorks

Access

RefWorks is web-based software. If you are not on campus, you need to use VPN or the RefWorks GroupCode in order to log in.

Login/Sign Up

Library home page  > [at top on right side]Library A-Z > R > RefWorks

Link at “In order to use RefWorks….”  Then, first time – “Sign Up for a New Account”

After first time, fill in Login Name and Password.

RefMobile

Click on regular Library link to RefWorks while on your handheld device or go to http://www.refworks.com/mobile/

Will be prompted for:   

  • Group Code
  • Login Name
  • Password

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks can be used to build your own bibliographic database. You can add notes/comments/links/PDFs. You can also insert bibliographic references from your RefWorks database into a Microsoft Word document. Your choice among many styles – AuthorDate; numbered; general styles, e.g. MLA, Chicago, APA; many individual journal specifications, e.g. JAMA, JACS, PNAS.

Adding References to RefWorks

Option 1: Another path to add citations into your RefWorks collection/folders

  • In RefWorks, go to the Search Menu and select Search Online Catalog or Database
  • Select from the pulldown menu: Brown U/Josiah; PubMed [examples]
  • Do either a Quick Search or Advanced Search. [as a trial, limit to 5]
  • Select records and click Import.
  • By default the import places the files in the Last Imported Folder. Click Import.

Option 2: Adding References From Josiah

  • If you use Josiah, you will see a button on the upper right area of the screen “Add to RefWorks”

Option 3: Export from a database

Some databases allow you to export direclty to RefWorks.

  • Example: EBSCO Databases
    • Do search > Add to Folder > Folder > Export > (.)Direct Export to RefWorks > Save
  • Example: WorldCat
    • Do search > put check marks at records you want > click Export > click the radial button RefWorks > click radial button Marked records > click Export button. This export should send the records to RefWorks

Option 4: Save/Import

Some databases do not have a Direct Export. May use a Save/Import.

  • Example: PubMed
    • In PubMed, do your search and get a list of articles.     Select articles you want [x]
    • ‘Send to’ pulldown, to  “Citation Manager” >  Create File > Open >
    • save as a .txt file.        In RefWorks. References menu > Import.
    • Use Import filter - NLM PubMed/PubMed. Browse for saved .txt file. Import.

Option 5: Type in your references 

  • In RefWorks, click New Reference
  • Select Reference type, e.g. journal, book section, etc.
  • Type the information into the fields.   
  • Add any attachments you may want to include.

Adding a Bibliography and Citations to MS Word

This includes in-text citations as well as full bibliographic information at end of paper.


Download Write-N-Cite

  • In RefWorks, go to Tools menu > Write-N-Cite.
  • Page gives instructions to download this small program. 
  • Write-N-Cite icon has been put into the Add-Ins tab, and you should see a Write-N-Cite icon tab in the Microsoft Word header

Using Write-N-Cite

After you Install Write-N-Cite (previous step), follow these steps:

  • Open up a Word document and put some text in it and Save.
  • With your mouse, click the place in the text where you’d like to put an in-text reference.
  • Click on the Write-N-Cite icon [at Add-In ribbon or toolbar].
  • Prompted to log into your RefWorks account.
  • You will see your citations in the One Line/Cite View.
  • At the left of one of the bibliographic records, click where it has ‘cite’.
  • In your Word document, do that again, adding more references.
  • SAVE the document.
  • After you have added all your references, back to RefWorks/Write-N-Cite. click Bibliography.
  • With pull down menu, choose the style you want to use – e.g. APA. To add more styles, on right side of screen  – Output Style Manager.
  • Click “Create Bibliography.”
  • Check the formatted references - to be sure that they came out correctly for the style you chose.

If have no Write-N-Cite in your Microsoft Word, use OneLine/Cite view.

  • Click on CITE for the reference you want to use.       
  • Citation Viewer appears.        
  • Click Select Citation Box. And Copy.
  • In the MS Word document, Click, Paste, Save.        
  • At RefWorks, click on Bibliography to choose style.


Footnotes

Created in Microsoft Word. With cursor in footnote at bottom of page, click “cite” from RefWorks citation. Footnotes work with MLA and some other styles, but note that it does not work for all styles.  More information on footnotes and RefWorks.

Sharing a RefWorks Collection

  • Click New Folder
  • RefShare.
  • Click Organize and Share Folders tab.
  • Folder you want to share > on right, click Share Linked icon.
  • At the top of the page, click Share and then choose Email.

Senior Digital Humanities Librarian

Elli Mylonas's picture
Elli Mylonas
Contact:
Office: Rockefeller Library A-42
401 863 7231