Skip to main content

American Studies

Full-Text Journal/Thesis Databases

What is a Secondary Source?

The function of secondary sources is to interpret primary sources, and so can be described as at least one step removed from the event or phenomenon under review.

Secondary source materials, then, interpret, assign value to, conjecture upon, and draw conclusions about the events reported in primary sources.

These are usually in the form of published works such as journal articles or books, but may include radio or television documentaries, or conference proceedings.

-- Definition from University of California Santa Cruz, University Library "Distinguish between Primary and Secondary Sources." Accessed November 17, 2011. http://library.ucsc.edu/help/howto/distinguish-between-primary-and-secondary-sources

Subject Databases

Scholarly Encyclopedias

These encyclopedias have been written by scholars working in fields related to American Studies and often contain extensive "Works Cited" sections to help you in your research.  This is a great place to get a good overiew of your reasearch topic.

American economy [electronic resource] : a historical encyclopedia / edited by Cynthia Clark Northrup

Conspiracy Theories in American History

Eleanor Roosevelt encyclopedia [electronic resource] / edited by Maurine H. Beasley, Holly C. Shulman, and Henry R. Beasley foreword by Blanche Wiesen Cook introduction by James McGregor Burns

Encyclopedia of African American business history [electronic resource] / edited by Juliet E.K. Walker

Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history [electronic resource] : the Black experience in the Americas / Colin A. Palmer, editor in chief

Encyclopedia of African-American education [electronic resource] / edited by Faustine C. Jones-Wilson ... [et al.]

Encyclopedia of American folk art [electronic resource] / Gerard C. Wertkin, editor Lee Kogan, associate editor in association with the American Folk Art Museum

Encyclopedia of American foreign policy [electronic resource] / editors, Alexander DeConde ... [et al.]

Encyclopedia of American literature of the sea and Great Lakes [electronic resource] / edited by Jill B. Gidmark

Encyclopedia of American parties, campaigns, and elections [electronic resource] / William C. Binning, Larry E. Esterly, and Paul A. Sracic

Encyclopedia of American poetry. The twentieth century [electronic resource] / edited by Eric L. Haralson

Encyclopedia of American religions [electronic resource] / J. Gordon Melton

Encyclopedia of American war literature [electronic resource] / edited by Philip K. Jason and Mark A. Graves associate editors, Robert D. Madison and Michael W. Schaefer

Encyclopedia of Black studies [electronic resource] / editors, Molefi Kete Asante, Ama Mazama

Encyclopedia of ethnicity and sports in the United States [electronic resource] / edited by George B. Kirsch, Othello Harris, and Claire E. Nolte

Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America [electronic resource] / Marc Stein, editor in chief

Encyclopedia of Native American legal tradition [electronic resource] / edited by Bruce Elliott Johansen foreword by Charles Riley Cloud

Encyclopedia of race and racism [electronic resource] / John Hartwell Moore, editor in chief

Encyclopedia of recreation and leisure in America [electronic resource] / Gary S. Cross, editor in chief

Encyclopedia of the American Revolution [electronic resource] : library of military history / Harold E. Selesky, editor-in-chief

Encyclopedia of the American Revolution [electronic resource] : library of military history / Harold E. Selesky, editor-in-chief

Encyclopedia of the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois Confederacy) [electronic resource] / edited by Bruce Elliott Johansen and Barbara Alice Mann

Encyclopedia of the industrial revolution in America [electronic resource] / James S. Olson technical editor, Robert L. Shadle.

Encyclopedia of the Mexican American civil rights movement [electronic resource] / Matt S. Meier and Margo Guti�rrez foreword by Antonia Hern�ndez

Encyclopedia of the United States in the nineteenth century [electronic resource] / Paul Finkelman, editor in chief

Encyclopedia of tourism [electronic resource] / chief editor Jafar Jafari

Encyclopedia of urban America [electronic resource] : the cities and suburbs / Neil Larry Shumsky, editor

Encyclopedia of Western colonialism since 1450 [electronic resource] / Thomas Benjamin, editor in chief

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia [electronic resource]

Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America [electronic resource] / contributing editor, Robert von Dassanowsky author of introduction, Rudolph J. Vecoli edited by Jeffrey Lehman

Gale encyclopedia of U.S. economic history [electronic resource] / Thomas Carson, editor Mary Bonk, associate editor

Guns in American society [electronic resource] : an encyclopedia of history, politics, culture, and the law / edited by Gregg Lee Carter

Historical and multicultural encyclopedia of women's reproductive rights in the United States [electronic resource] / edited by Judith A. Baer

History of America, in two books. Containing, I. A general history of America. II. A concise history of the late Revolution. / Extracted from the American edition of the Encyclopaedia

History of America, in two books. Containing, I. A general history of America. II. A concise history of the late Revolution. / Extracted from the American edition of the Encyclopaedia

History of America, in two books. Containing, I. A general history of America. II. A concise history of the late Revolution. / Extracted from the American edition of the Encyclopaedia now publishing, by Thomas Dobson, at the stone-house, in Second-St

History of science in the United States [electronic resource] : an encyclopedia / edited by Marc Rothenberg

Italian American experience [electronic resource] : an encyclopedia / editors, Salvatore J. LaGumina ... [et al.]

Latinas in the United States [electronic resource] : a historical encyclopedia / edited by Vicki L. Ruiz and Virginia S�nchez Korrol

Louisa May Alcott encyclopedia [electronic resource] / edited by Gregory Eiselein and Anne K. Phillips foreword by Madeleine B. Stern

Martial arts of the world [electronic resource] : an encyclopedia / edited by Thomas A. Green

Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America [electronic resource] / edited by Andrew F. Smith

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States

Poe encyclopedia [electronic resource] / Frederick S. Frank and Anthony Magistrale

Prime-time religion [electronic resource] : an encyclopedia of religious broadcasting / by J. Gordon Melton, Phillip Charles Lucas, Jon R. Stone

Schirmer encyclopedia of film [electronic resource] / Barry Keith Grant, editor in chief

Scribner encyclopedia of American lives. Vol. 1, 1981-1985 [electronic resource] / Kenneth T. Jackson, editor in chief Karen Markoe, general editor Arnold Markoe, executive editor

Scribner encyclopedia of American lives. Vol. 2, 1986-1990 [electronic resource] / Kenneth T. Jackson, editor in chief Karen Markoe, general editor Arnold Markoe, executive editor

Scribner encyclopedia of American lives. Vol. 3, 1991-1993 [electronic resource] / Kenneth T. Jackson, editor in chief Karen Markoe, general editor Arnold Markoe, executive editor

Scribner encyclopedia of American lives. Vol. 4, 1994-1996 [electronic resource] / Kenneth T. Jackson, editor in chief Karen Markoe, general editor Arnold Markoe, executive editor

Scribner encyclopedia of American lives. Vol. 6, 2000-2002 [electronic resource] / Kenneth T. Jackson, editor in chief Karen Markoe, general editor Arnold Markoe, executive editor

Scribner encyclopedia of American lives. Vol. 7, 2003-2005 [electronic resource] / Arnold Markoe, editor in chief Karen Markoe, general editor Kenneth T. Jackson, consulting editor

St. James encyclopedia of popular culture [electronic resource] / with an introduction by Jim Cullen editors, Tom Pendergast and Sara Pendergast

Stephen Crane encyclopedia [electronic resource] / Stanley Wertheim

Tobacco in history and culture [electronic resource] : an encyclopedia / Jordan Goodman, editor in chief

William Faulkner encyclopedia [electronic resource] / edited by Robert W. Hamblin and Charles A. Peek

Women's studies encyclopedia [electronic resource] / edited by Helen Tierney