Skip to main content

Research Beyond Google

Resources for teaching and learning, available locally and through the open Web.

Digitized Books

Google Books offers a way to search through the full text of more than 30 million books. Some books are available in full text, like those either offered for "open access" by their publishers or those books in the public domain (usually older material or those works whose copyright have otherwise expired). For other books, individual pages or portions are given, or sometimes just "snippits." There are many books, however, that are not searchable at all because of publishing rights held. Google Books offers a means to purchase books, but remember that you may also request them through your local public library!

Consider doing an Advanced Google Books search to search through only those books available for free in full text.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest digital archive of books, focuses on preserving and providing access to the world's most important cultural and historical texts. Gutenberg's texts are scanned in their entirety and are in the public domain.

Local Resources (may require log-in)

Webpath Express is a search engine imbedded in Destiny. This resource gives lexile levels along with grade level suggestions. Each source listed through this source has been checked for validity.

Askri.org is a resource provided by the state of RI. There are many tools available, including homework help, mango (to learn languages), and World Book Web.

 

Web Resources (open to all)

General/ Interdisciplinary

World Book Web is the World Book Encyclopedia online. It can be accessed from any computer in RI through this link or through Askri.org. If you are using a computer outside of RI, simply put in your RI zip code when prompted. These are articles written by experts in their fields.

National Geographic Kids has a lot of information and beautiful pictures of countries and animals.

Fact Monster is a great one stop shopping research website. On this one website there is a dictionary, encyclopedia, almanac, and atlas.

Library of Congress for Kids and Families, a portal to student-centered educational resources, invites you to "play around, learn something." Includes history, the arts, literature, and science.

MERLOT has learning materials as well as teacher education and educational leadership resources.

PBS Teachers Teaching resources for a variety of learning levels and subject areas. Includes media.

Teach-nology A web portal of thousands of lesson plans, rubrics, and worksheets across a variety of subjects and learning levels.

ELA

Read.gov From the Library of Congress Center for the Book. A great source for book lists, author webcasts, contests, the classics, and teacher resources.

Science

The Bridge is a K-12 lesson plans for marine education, sponsored by NOAA Sea Grant and the National Marine Educators Association.

NASA is a great website to find information about science, especially the solar system.

Science360 Sponsored by the National Science Foundation, this is a collection of brief videos on topics of current interest in science.

Social Studies

CIA World Factbook A website from the Central Intelligence Agency with information about each country in the world; includes maps and country flags. The CIA's "Kids

Teaching with the Library of Congress A blog from the LOC with ideas for teaching with primary sources.

Google

Ms. Cassidy's Classroom

A first grade teacher in Canada blogs about her experiences, ideas, learning and teaching!

Loading