Skip to main content

Nonfiction Writing Program in the Department of English

Resources for students in Brown University's NonFiction Writing Program.

Index

This page provides links to commonly used resources for researching essays of creative non-fiction.

Newspapers

Brown subscribes to many online newspapers with content ranging from the 19th century to the current day. We also own many newspapers on microform.

For complete list of recent newspapers (1980-present), see our Online Newspapers page.

For complete list of older news coverage, see our resource guides for Historical Periodicals and Historical Newspapers.

Government Information

Federal Depository Library Program

These guides will help you find resources, statistics, and documents from the governments listed below:

Federal Government Information

Rhode Island Government Information

United Nations Government Information

Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Premier  full text icon    
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

JSTOR  full text icon    
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

SocINDEX with Full Text  full text icon    
1895-present; SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. This product contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Includes extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

PubMED    
1940's-present; PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. [This resource is publicly available.] The Library also has access to MEDLINE via Web of Knowledge and via Ovid Medline.