Skip to main content

Classics

Introduction

The reference tools shown here will include both paper and electronic resources, as both can be very important. 

Electronic resources are listed in the box on the right.  Here is a selection of paper resources, mostly housed in the Reference collection in the Rockefeller Library.  This is only a selection -- you will find more on the shelves nearby. 

Basic  -- Dictionaries

Liddell & Scott's Greek lexicon

The major Greek-English dictionary

Oxford Latin Dictionary

The major Latin-English dictionary, but still useful is the older classic: Lewis & Short.

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae

A much more advanced dictionary, all in Latin.  Also available online (see box on right).

A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and other Early Christian Literature (3rd ed.)

This and the next two resources are for later (non-classical) Greek.

Lampe, Patristic Greek Lexicon

Sophocles, A Glossary of Later and Byzantine Greek

Du Cange, Glossarium mediae et infimae Latinitatis

A classic work for medieval and later Latin, old but still useful.

Niermeyer, Mediae Latinitatis lexicon minus =  Medieval Latin dictionary (2nd rev. ed.)

A more recent dictionary of medieval Latin, especially based on historical and archival texts.

Dictionary of Renaissance Latin

Basic -- Encyclopedic works

Pauly-Wissowa

Paulys real-encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft

The original encyclopedia of Classical culture, updated and translated by the next item (which is also available online)

Brill's New Pauly

The basic section (Antiquity) covers the ancient world, but there are several supplements that are also very useful.

Oxford Classical Dictionary (4th ed.)

A one-volume quick reference.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome

Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenistic Tradition

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium

Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae

with supplements following it on the shelf.


Oxford Companion to Classical Litererature (2nd ed.)

      3rd ed., available online

Enciclopedia Virgiliana

E-Resources