Skip to main content

Comparative Literature

African Languages

For databases relating to African languages and literature, please see this subject guide:

Africana Studies

 

Ksar of Aït Ben Haddou, Morocco. Photo by Dietrich Neumann. Luna Collection.

Ancient Languages

For database relating to ancient languages and literature, please see these suibject guides:

Classics

Egyptology and Ancient Western Asia

Judaic Studies (Ancient and Medieval)

Medieval Studies

 

Ara Pacis, south side, Imperial Family. Rome, 13-9 BCE. Photo by Brooke Hammerle. Luna Collection.

Asian Languages

For databases relating to Asian languages and literature, please see these subject guides:

Chinese Studies

Japanese Studies

Korean Studies

South Asian Studies

 

Sutra of Buddha's Names. From Dunhuang.. Early 10th century. British Museum. Luna Collection.

English Language

The Edgar Allen Poe's shrine (oldest house in Richmond). Postcard, 1927. Harris Collection.

European Languages

For databases relating to European languages and literature, please see these subject guides as well as resource below:

French and Francophone Studies

German Language and Literature

Haitian Studies

Italian Studies

Latin American, Iberian, and Caribbean Resources

Modern Greek Studies

Slavic Languages

 

Alexander Longinov. Tale of the Cock and the Fox. 1852. Luna Collection.

Middle Eastern Languages

For databases relating to Middle Eastern languages and literature, please see these subject guides:

Judaic Studies (Ancient and Medieval)

Judaic Studies (Modern Period)

Middle Eastern Studies

 

Solomon ben Raphael. Bible. 1299. Bibliotheque Nationale de France. Luna Collection.