Skip to main content

History of Eastern Europe and the Balkans

Print Resources

Most of the resources listed below can be found in the Reference collection in the Rockefeller Library, and some are also available online.  This is merely a selection (there is not enough space for a comprehensive list), but be sure to look on the shelves near these for other useful titles.

General

Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe: From the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of Communism

Slavic Studies: A Guide to Bibliographies, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks (2 vols.)

Dictionary of East European History Since 1945

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union

The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History

This work of more than 60 volumes was produced during the Soviet era, but is updated by a series of more recent supplements. 

Particular Countries or Regions

Encyclopedia of Russia (4 vols.)  (online)

Historical Dictionary of Albania

Quick links for Eastern European History

AccessUN    
1944-present; provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Data Services    
The EIU DataServices portfolio comprises the following global business databases: EIU Country Data, a comprehensive database of economic indicators and forecasts, covering more than 320 economic series for 150 countries, as well as 45 regional aggregates, running from 1980 and forecasting out five years; EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts, a powerful database of economic, demographic, consumption and industry data on 60 major countries, stretching back to 1990 and forward five years; EIU City Data, a global database of product prices and business costs providing over 330 prices levels on more than 160 products and services in 123 cities worldwide from 1990 to the present, and Combination of Country Data and Market Indicators, which is a combination of EIU Country Data and EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts.

Seventeen Moments in Soviet History 
"Seventeen Moments in Soviet History contains a rich archive of texts, images, maps and audio and video materials from the Soviet era (1917-1991). The materials are arranged by year and by subject, are fully searchable, and are translated into English. Students, educators, and scholars will find fascinating materials about Soviet propaganda, politics, economics, society, crime, literature, art, dissidents and hundreds of other topics"

Shoah Foundation Institute Visual History Archive 
Between 1994 and 1999, the Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation -- now the USC Shoah Foundation Institute -- interviewed nearly 52,000 survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust. The Institute interviewed Jewish survivors, homosexual survivors, Jehovah's Witness survivors, liberators and liberation witnesses, political prisoners, rescuers and aid providers, Roma and Sinti (Gypsy) survivors, survivors of Eugenics policies, and war crimes trials participants. The complete archive of these testimonies, which were videotaped in 56 countries and in 32 languages, is now available to Brown students, faculty, and staff for ON-CAMPUS USE ONLY.

World Development Indicators    
Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.