Skip to main content

History of Eastern Europe and the Balkans

Introduction

     Articles are found both in journals and in collections of essays (such as the papers presented at a conference, and later edited for publication).  the bibliographic databases presented here generally index both journals and collections of essays.  Academic Search Premier, which is a general, interdisciplinary database, even indexes popular magazines, although one can limit a search to peer-reviewed journals.  I have also included indexes to newspaper articles.  

    You can also search for articles in the search box on the Library's main web page, although you will only find articles that the Library has in digital form. 

Full-Text Journal Archives

Periodical and other indexes

Historical Abstracts   
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.

PAIS International    
1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.

Times (London) Digital Archive    
1795-1985; researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.