Academic Gateways -- Europe:
- Biblioth�que Interuniversitaire de M�decine (BIUM)
BIUM offers a tastefully-designed and visually appealing site on the history of medicine that will interest researchers in the sciences as well as in the humanities and social sciences. The site offers access to a catalog of its holdings and recent acquisitions, an image database, a biographical database, online journals, conference proceedings, bibliographies and a few theses. The availability of digitized texts (ancient history, medical specialties and varia) and links to other scholarly online documents makes this site a very valuable resource.
- Early Modern Resources
Not affiliated to an academic institution but the material selected could of interest to scholars. "The site was conceived as a gateway site for any one interested in studying the early modern period (c.1500-1800), offering the widest possible range of (free-to-use) links arranged in a user-friendly manner." The site is maintained by Sharon Howard, PhD in History from the University of Wales in Aberystwyth.
- Humbul Humanities Hub
"Evaluates and catalogues online resources in the humanities of use to students, teachers and researchers in UK higher and further education."
- Internet Modern History Sourcebook
"It is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in modern European history and American history, as well as in modern Western Civilization and World Cultures. "
- Voice of the Shuttle -- History Links
"VoS emphasizes both primary and secondary (or theoretical) resources, and defines its audience as people who have something to learn from a higher-education, professional approach to the humanities."
- WWW-VL History Central Catalogue
"WWW Virtual Library (VL) is the oldest catalog of the Web." "Unlike commercial catalogs, it is run by a loose confederation of volunteers, who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert; even though it isn't the biggest index of the Web, the VL pages are widely recognised as being amongst the highest-quality guides to particular sections of the Web."
Academic Gateways -- Medieval Studies:
Academic Programs and Seminars:
- International Seminar on the History of the Atlantic World -- Harvard University
The aim of this program "is to advance the scholarship of young historians of many nations interested in aspects of Atlantic history in the formative years; to help create an international community of scholars familiar with approaches, archives, and intellectual traditions different from their ownl and ultimately to further international understanding."
Associations and Societies:
- Academia Europaea
"A European, non-governmental association acting as an Academy. Members are scientists and scholars who collectively aim to promote learning, education and research."
- American Historical Association
"AHA is a nonprofit membership organization founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies, the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, and the dissemination of historical research."
- Foundation for the Advancement of Sephardic Studies and Culture -- FASSAC
"Foundation has been dedicated to preserving and promoting the complex and centuries-old culture of the Sephardic communities of Turkey, Greece, the Balkans, Europe and the U.S. Emigration, and the devastation of the Holocaust, have combined to weaken historic communities which had resisted assimilation, where Ladino, the Sephardic language, was used continuously and unique cultural traditions were practiced."
- Royal Historical Society
"Founded in 1868 and is the premier society in Great Britain which promotes and defends the scholarly study of the past."
Bibliographies -- Europe:
- ELIOHS - Electronic library of Historiography
"Full text of classics of historiography, works of methodology, theory and philosophy of history, key works of the historiographical debates, classics of historical erudition, travel literature, historical narratives of the rise and development of particular sciences, arts or techniques, literary works of historiographical relevance, handbooks of history for schools and universities, belonging to modern intellectual history (XVI-XXth centuries)." Description taken from the Italian History Index.
- AHDS History
"AHDS History is the national service provider for the acquisition, dissemination and preservation of electronic historical materials and is one of the five centres of the Arts and Humanities Data Service." Based at the University of Essex.
- Medieval and Early Modern Data Bank
"The Medieval and Early Modern Data Bank is a project established at Rutgers University and originally cosponsored by the Research Libraries Group (RLG), Inc. Its aim is to provide scholars with an expanding library of information in electronic format on the medieval and early modern periods of European history, circa 800-1815."
- Netherlands Historical Data Archive
"Contains descriptions of a wide range of historical datasets (also called studies) covering a time period from early history to the present day. A large number of datasets can also be accessed and downloaded online. The focus is primarily on datasets with a subject matter covering the history of the Netherlands and its former colonies, as well as datasets created by Dutch researchers."
"Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe." Materials are arranged by country. Provides a link to Medieval and Renaissance documents. From Brigham Young University.
- Gallica: Biblioth�que Num�rique de la Biblioth�que Nationale de France
Sponsored by the Biblioth�que nationale de France, Gallica is a vast and growing collection of digitized resources in French and other Western European languages. It currently offers 70,000 digitized texts. The emphasis of the site is on documents of historical or cultural value. Some sections of the site focus on literary collections such as Gallica classique or on specific themes such as Proust or utopia.
- Lopez Martin Collection (Spain)
"The present collection in hypertext format inspired by the Spanish and Portuguese Historical Society (SPHP) and sustained by Lynn Nelson (University of Kansas), Jack Owens (Idaho State University), and Ignacio L�pez Mart�n (European University Institute) is since 1996 the first step of a wider project regarding the use of Internet to study Early Modern Iberian history."
- Monastic Database for England and Wales
"The Monastic Database is being constructed at the University of Hong Kong under the direction of Dr Peter Cunich in the Department of History. Its principal aim is to gather together in one place as much data as possible concerning the monks, nuns and friars of England and Wales who were alive in the period from 1500 until the dissolution of the monasteries (1536-40). It will also include data concerning the later careers of these religious from the time of the dissolution until the early years of the seventeenth century."
- Pamphlet collection -- British Library
"The Bristish Library holds 90,000 old pamphlets, many published in the 19th century or the early part of the 20th century. This is primary source material, published and written by pressure groups, political parties and individual campaigners. Much of the original collection was donated to the Library in its early years. It is therefore a unique resource for historical research."
- Scholarly Societies Project
Sponsored by the University of Waterloo. Provides access to information about scholarly societies across the world.
- The Avalon Project at Yale Law School
Full-text historical documents. "The Avalon Project is dedicated to providing access via the World Wide Web to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. "
Electronic Projects -- Medieval History:
- LIBRO: Library of Iberian Resources Online
"LIBRO is a joint project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and the University of Central Arkansas. A growing full-text online resource of "recent, but out-of-print university press monographs."
"A project to construct a bio-bibliographical database of early texts produced in the Iberian Peninsula and to provide access to this information through an online service on the WorldWideWeb."
- Europa -- The European Union On-Line
"EUROPA is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration."
- European Union Documents
"This site sets out all the documents available and will help you find the document you need. It is divided into three sections and contains links to legislation, activity reports, brochures, audio-visual material, internal documents, archives, etc."
Fellowships and Grants:
- BIDH - Bibliographie Internationale de D�mographie Historique
International Bibliography of Historical Demography. Maintained by the Laboratoire de d�mographie in the Universit� de Li�ge. "the project has been funded by the French Soci�t� de D�mographie Historique (S.D.H.), the International Union for the Scientific Study of Population (I.U.S.S.P.), and the International Committee of Historical Sciences (I.C.H.S.)."
- H-Demog -- Historical Demography
"H-Demog is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and Michigan State University. H-Demog is an international scholarly online discussion list on demographic history."
Libraries, Archives and Research Centers:
- Casa de Vel�zquez (Spain)
"Casa de Vel�zquez is an important French institution in Spain depending of the French Minist�re de l'�ducation nationale, de l'Enseignement sup�rieur et de la Recherche."
- Centre for Early Modern Studies, Resources -- University of Aberdeen
"The archival holdings of the university comprise some 3,700 discrete collections which contain some 250,000 individual items, most of them relating to the history and culture of the North-east of Scotland." "The printed holdings of Department of Special Libraries and Archives consist of some 150,000 items. About one third of these were published prior to 1800. These include some 231 incunabula, over 4200 16th-century continental imprints, a similar number of early English and Scottish printed books, and larger numbers from the 17th and 18th centuries."
- Contemporary Portuguese Political History Research Centre
"Created by Stewart Lloyd-Jones in September 1998. Originally named the Contemporary Portuguese History Research Centre, our initial intention was to use the global reach of the internet to provide a store of documentary material related to the history of the Portuguese Republic - to use new technology to facilitate and to promote the study of Portugal."
- Erasmus Center for Early Modern Studies -- University of Rotterdam
"The Erasmus Center For Early Modern Studies at the Faculty of History and Arts Studies, Erasmus University Rotterdam, provides the organizational focus for research in Early Modern Social, Political, Cultural and Intellectual History (15th to 18th centuries), in particular in relation to the rich collections of Early Modern books and broad-sheets at the Public Library, Rotterdam. These comprise 30,000 volumes of Early Modern books and broad-sheets, among them the ca. 10,000 volumes of Erasmus� works and of contemporary work on Erasmus at the Erasmus Collection, one of the most complete collections in the world."
- Historical Research in Europe: A Guide to Archives and Libraries
"This project is intended to assist researchers who are planning to use European libraries and archives. The focus is on materials found in western European repositories from the Atlantic area eastward. Included are all kinds of archival and library resources available in western Europe."
- Institut d'Estudis Catalans (IEC)
"An academic, scientific and cultural corporation the aim of which is scientific research involving all the elements of Catalan culture."
- Institute of Historical Research
"The Institute of Historical Research is part of the University of London's School of Advanced Study. Situated in the heart of Bloomsbury, close to the British Library and other centres of specialist research, it is an important resource and meeting place for scholars from all over the world."
- Library of Congress -- European Reading Room
"The Library of Congress (LC)collections from or pertaining to Europe began with the acquisition of Thomas Jefferson's personal library, which contained representative works of European culture in many subjects." The LC European "holdings are especially strong in history, literature, and the social sciences. The French, German, and Russian collections, an estimated 3,500,000 volumes, are the strongest among the European collections."
- UNESCO Archives Portal
"With the Archives Portal, UNESCO provides a single interactive access point to information for archivists and users of archives worldwide. Visitors can browse through pre-established categories or search for specific words."
- Newberry Library
"The Newberry Library is an independent research library concentrating in the humanities with an active educational and cultural presence in Chicago. Free and open to the public, it houses an extensive non-circulating collection of rare books, maps, and manuscripts."
Copac is a union catalog in the UK. It "is formed by merging the online library catalogues of members of the Consortium of University Research Libraries (CURL), plus a few other specialist databases and collections. There are 26 CURL libraries currently contributing their catalogue to Copac, including the British Library and National Library of Scotland."
- Harvard University Libraries -- Hollis Catalog
The HOLLIS Catalog is a "database containing over 9 million records for more than 14 million books, journals, manuscripts, government documents, maps, microforms, music scores, sound recordings, visual materials, and data files."
- Huntington Library
"For qualified scholars, the Huntington Library is one of the largest and most complete research libraries in the United States in its fields of specialization. Collections include rare books and manuscripts principally in the areas of British and American history and literature, 15th century European books, history of science, maritime history, and Renaissance exploration and cartography."
- Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog
The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog is a meta catalog of libraries provided by the Karlsruhe University Library. Users may access library and book trade catalogs worldwide.
Library Catalogs -- Medieval Collections:
- Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana
One of the oldest continuous libraries in Europe and one of the richest repositories of ancient, medieval, and Renaissance manuscripts in the world, containing some 70,000 manuscript codices.
- Bodleian Library
The Bodleian Library is the main research library of the University of Oxford.
- British Library -- Early Printed Collections
"The collections of early Western printed books at the British Library have their origins in the foundation collections of the British Museum Library. These include the libraries of such great collectors as Sir Hans Sloane (1660-1753), King George III (ruled 1760-1820) (The King's Library), Charles Burney (1757-1817), Sir Joseph Banks (1743-1820), and Thomas Grenville (1755-1846)." "The Early Printed Collections department develops and provides access to materials printed in Britain and Ireland before 1915, and elsewhere in Western Europe before 1851. Besides books, these collections include periodicals and pre-1801 London newspapers, fine bindings, decorated papers, early original photographs, and many kinds of printed ephemera."
- British Library -- Manuscript Catalog
"A searchable illustrated catalogue of all the western illuminated manusripts in the British Library. The Library holds one of the richest collections of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the world."
A database for searching medieval manuscripts in Italian libraries.
- Pierpont Morgan Library
A unique collection of illuminated, literary, and historical manuscripts, early printed books, and old master drawings and prints. Located in New York City.
- A Portuguese World View
A Library of Congress site. "Compiled in Lisbon in 1630, this manuscript atlas was the work of Jo�o Teixeira, who served as cosmographer to the king of Portugal and is considered the most prolific Portuguese cartographer of the seventeenth century."
- British Library Map Collections
The BUL Map Library provides "access to maps, atlases and globes of all parts of the world dating back to the 15th century."
- Cartografia europea tra Rinascimento e Illuminismo
A collaborative project of the Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze and the Istituto Universitario Europeo, with the participation of the Istituto e Museo di Storia della Scienza di Firenze and the Istituto Geografico Militare.
A digital collection of historically significant maps.
- British Newspapers 1800-1900
A Newspaper digitisation project from the British Library. It will offer user "Free access to a virtual library of nationally, regionally and locally important digitised British newspapers from 1800 to 1900."
EUFeeds is a special-purpose RSS aggregator for European newspapers that provides access to more than 300 papers from the European Union. Provided by the European Journalism Centre in the Netherlands, this site lets you quickly browse the print media from each EU member nation.
- Internet Library of Early Journals -- Bodleian Library, Oxford University
"A joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, conducted under the auspices of the eLib (Electronic Libraries) Programme. It aimed to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals, and make these images available on the Internet, together with their associated bibliographic data. The project finished in 1999, and no additional material will be added."
Programs and Seminars -- Medieval Studies:
- Institute for Medieval Studies at the University of Leeds
"One of the UK's largest communities of medievalists. In addition to its teaching and thriving research, the Institute produces the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), hosts the International Medieval Congress (IMC), Europe's largest annual gathering of medievalists, and offers expert resources and networking facilities in all fields of medieval studies worldwide."
- Medieval Institute, Kalamazoo
"The Medieval Institute at Western Michigan University was established in 1961 as a center of instruction and research in the history and culture of the Middle Ages."
Resources -- Britain:
- British Museum
"The British Museum holds in trust for the nation and the world a collection of art and antiquities from ancient and living cultures. Housed in one of Britain's architectural landmarks, the collection is one of the finest in existence, spanning two million years of human history. Access to the collections is free."
- Museum of London
"The Museum of London Group represents a quarter of a million years of history and over seven million modern Londoners. Our collections include over a million items."
Resources -- France:
- Clio -- Site d'histoire sociale
Clio is the site of the Ecole nationale sup�rieure and focuses on the study of social history from the 1800s to date. It offers tools for historians, access to periodical articles and immigration data.
- Dix-Neuf -- Ressources sur le dix-neuvi�me si�cle
Sponsored by the the Society of Dix-Neuvi�mistes and maintained at the University of Bristol in the UK, Dix-Neuf features a selection of resources by and for specialists of the nineteenth century.
- FRAME FRAnce roMan GuErre
FRAME is a project based at the Universities of Leeds and Durham (UK) which aims to compile an extensive and regularly updated database of Narratives of War and Occupation in France from 1939 to the present.
- Image of France
The Image of France is Binghamton University Libraries Professor George D. McKee's index of all of the printed imagery authorized for publication in France, beginning in 1811 and now complete to 1831.
Resources -- Italy:
- Bibliografia Storica Nazionale
Yearly history bibliography covering all periods, published by the Giunta Nazionale per gli Studi Storici accessible online from the year 2000 on.
- Italian Bibliography of the History of Science (BISS)
"BISS collects the history of science writings published in Italy: monographs, periodical articles, articles of miscellaneous works and book reviews. Articles published in monthly or less-frequent periodicals and publications with a popular or educational aim are excluded."
- Italian History Index
"Italian History Index is a joint project between the European University Institute's Library and the History & Civilisation Department."
- The Medici Archive Project
"A project bringing the Medici Granducal Archive's resources for the arts and humanities to a broad international public."
Resources -- Portugal:
- Portuguese Historical Museum
A museum founded in 1997 to preserve the history of Portuguese immigrants. "The Portuguese Historical Museum is a replica of the first permanent imp�rio built in San Jose, CA, circa 1915."
- Portuguese Manuscript Collection -- Special Collections in the Library of Congress
"Through purchases in 1927 and 1929, the Library of Congress acquired the nucleus of its general book collections in Portuguese history and literature and an important group of documents now in available to researchers in the Manuscript Reading Room. Like the books and pamphlets, the majority of the 600 manuscripts can be traced to the private libraries of two Portuguese collectors, conde de Olivais e Penha Longa and Antonio Augusto de Carvalho Monteiro."
Resources -- Spain:
- Spanish history Index
A section of the World Wide Web Virtual Library - History, European History. Maintained by the European University Institute in Florence, Italy.
Thesis and Dissertations:
- Western European Studies Section (WESS Web)
"WESS represents librarians and others who specialize or are otherwise professionally involved in the acquisition, organization, and use of information sources originating in or related to Western European countries. WESS' aim is to promote the improvement of library services supporting study and research in Western European affairs from ancient times to the present."
- WESS WEB -- History Guide
A European history Web guide maintained by Thea Lindquist, from the Library of University of Colorado at Boulder.
- WESS Medieval and Renaissance Web
Via WESS Web. "Provides access to scholarly resources for Western Middle Ages and the the Renaissance. It includes vendor information for commercial products, as well as access to free sites."