Skip to main content

History (General & Modern)

Introduction

     Articles are found both in journals and in collections of essays (such as the papers presented at a conference, and later edited for publication).  the bibliographic databases presented here generally index both journals and collections of essays.  Academic Search Premier, which is a general, interdisciplinary database, even indexes popular magazines, although one can limit a search to peer-reviewed journals.  I have also included indexes to newspaper articles.  

    You can also search for articles in the search box on the Library's main web page, although you will only find articles that the Library has in digital form. 

Full-Text Journal Archives

Periodical databases

Historical Abstracts    
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.

America: History and Life 
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance   
1859-present; Iter's Journals Database is an electronic bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Iter citations include articles; bibliographies; catalogues; abstracts; and discographies. An online version of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world is now included.

Times (London) Digital Archive   
1795-1985; researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

FRANCIS   
1984-present; through an international perspective, FRANCIS provides citations to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences. Topics include: art, psychology, information science, archaeology, ethnology, geography, business management, history of science and technology, history and science of religion, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and protohistory, sociology, education and more. Citations include journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and doctoral dissertations.

Bases de Datos del CSIC   
Created by the Center for Scientific Information and Documentation (CINDOC) for the Higher Council for Scientific Research (CSIC) in Spain, the Bases de Datos del CSICcontains three databases that index Spanish journals and conference papers.

  •  ISOC - 1975-present; contains seventeen subdatabases in the social sciences and humanities. 

  •  ICYT - 1979-present; contains ten subdatabases on science and technology.

  •  IME - 1971-present; biomedicine.

Note: The search engine is not sensitive to accents and diacritics other than the tilde in the letter n. The letter n alone cannot act as a replacement. In such cases replace n with the truncation symbol *, or copy and paste this letter from a word processing program.

Readers' Guide Retrospective   
1890-1982; contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. See Readers Guide Abstracts for 1982 to present.

APS Online   
1740-1940; the American Periodicals database indexes periodicals from that time period, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Academic Search Premier   
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

LexisNexis Academic   
Current; said to be the world's largest full-text, online database, containing more than a billion full-text articles, citation abstracts, and documents. Emphasis is on current news and legal and business information. For help in getting started, see Introduction to LexisNexis Video Tutorial.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials   
1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine   
1975-present; this database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.

JSTOR   
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. 

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html. 
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

Project Muse   
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links toJSTOR.