Skip to main content

Renaissance & Early Modern Studies

Selected eBooks for Renaissance & Early Modern Studies

ACLS Humanities Ebook Project 
A collection of full text scholarly works in history, archaeology, area studies and related fields, published between 1880 and the present. Some titles are available in XML and some can be Print-On-Demand for a fee.

ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) 
Over 2,600 texts (mostly scholarly editions) ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The powerful search and retrieval engine, PhiloLogic3, enables scholars to perform textual analysis, and to limit and extend both the searches and search results from various points of view.

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) Digital Edition 
Ongoing; based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, this resource serves as the foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) 
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts(1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Subjects include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) Text Creation Project 
Fully searchable electronic texts of 40,000 of the 100,000+ titles in Early English Books Online (EEBO) are being made available through this Text Creation Partnership. These editions are presented in a modern format that can be accessed by topic, by date, by type of material, and various other parameters for both instructional and research purposes.

ebrary 
ebrary Academic Complete subscription collection offers access for over 80,000 titles from leading academic and professional publishers. Concentrations include business and economics, computers and technology, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences. 
For help in getting started, see ebrary Video Tutorial.

Gallica 
Developed and maintained by the Biblioth�que nationale de France, Gallica is a vast and growing collection of digitized resources in French and other Western European languages. It currently offers over 100,000 digitized texts and 300,000 images. The emphasis of the site is on documents of historical or cultural value. Some sections of the site focus on literary collections such as Gallica classique, on specific themes such as Proust or utopia, or on a particular format such as periodicals. [This resource is publicly available.]

Oxford Text Archive 
The OTA works closely with members of the Arts and Humanities academic community to collect, catalogue, and preserve high-quality electronic texts for research and teaching. The OTA currently distributes more than 2500 resources in over 25 different languages. [This resource is publicly available.]

Past Masters 
Searchable collection of classic texts in philosophy, literature, and the sciences. Collections include: 
Aristotle: Complete Works
British Philosophy: 1600-1900
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Plato: Collected Dialogues
Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill
Yeats: Collected Letters

Women Writers Online 
1400-1850; full text collection of writing by women in English with currently about 200 texts and growing. Includes a wide range of subjects and genres, and all texts are transcribed in full, including front and back matter.