Skip to main content

Social Sciences Data Resources

Provided here are resources for finding, working with, and managing social sciences data.

Social Sciences Data Librarian

Bruce Boucek
Contact:
Bruce provides consultations and class sessions on social science research, data acquisition, analysis, visualization, and mapping.

Rockefeller Library, Rm 103
10 Prospect St., Providence, RI 02912
Office Location
(401) 863-7978
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page

Election data

The American Presidency Project

A collaborative effort from the University of California at Santa Barbara, these archives contain 104,106 documents related to the study of the Presidency. Includes voter turnout, financing elections, election documents, speeches, briefings, statements, and much more.

American National Election Studies

Conducted biennially since 1952, the survey gauges public sentiment on the political process, the role of government, and social and economic issues. This site permits download of the ANES datasets, most of which are also available through ICPSR.

Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA)

A repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world.

Electoral Data Resources: Electronic Data Center

Emory University Library's giant bibliography of web resources on elections data, both current and historic, national and international.

ICPSR   
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.
**This data is not remotely accessible using the Off-Campus Access (Proxy) service. You must install the Brown University VPN client.
**

The political pot boils!

Polling data

Pew Research Center

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Gallup

Provides data-driven news based on U.S. and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research. Articles and videos cover news, politics, government, business, economy, behavioral economics, management

iPoll  
1935-present; a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Part of the subscription to the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.

Polling the Nations   
1986-present; Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each of the records reports a question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the universe, i.e., the groups or areas included in the interview.

Chicago Council Surveys

The Chicago Council on Global Affairs "is a leading independent, nonpartisan organization committed to influencing the discourse on global issues through contributions to opinion and policy formation, leadership dialogue, and public learning." Their site includes