Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies

Oral History Projects

Subscription Databases:

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography  2000 edition; a study of the WPA slave narratives. A massive historical collection, it includes complete records for each narrative identifying the narrator, his or her year of birth, and the county and state where the narrator was in bondage.

In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives. In the First Person is an index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. First person narratives from hundreds of published volumes--those that are publicly available on the Web and those that are held by repositories and archives around the world are included. Future updates will contain full-text sources and hundreds of thousands of bibliographic records. The index will allow users perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within Alexander Street Press databases as well.

Shoah Foundation Institute Visual History Archive 
Between 1994 and 1999, the Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation -- now the USC Shoah Foundation Institute -- interviewed nearly 52,000 survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust. The Institute interviewed Jewish survivors, homosexual survivors, Jehovah's Witness survivors, liberators and liberation witnesses, political prisoners, rescuers and aid providers, Roma and Sinti (Gypsy) survivors, survivors of Eugenics policies, and war crimes trials participants. The complete archive of these testimonies, which were videotaped in 56 countries and in 32 languages, is now available to Brown students, faculty, and staff for ON-CAMPUS USE ONLY.

 

Multimedia Resources:

Voices of American Homemakers Oral History Project 
A project of the National Extension Homemaker's Council in the 1980s to document the experiences of American housewives nationwide. 5 volumes of text and 168 sound cassettes.
Annex 1-Size TX23 .V652x 1985

 

Print and Microform Resources:

Black Women Oral History Project 
Transcripts of interviews produced at the Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America at Radcliffe. 10 volumes. There is also a printed guide to the interview transcripts.
Rock E185.86 .B544 1991

The Worker and Technological change, 1930-1980: Interviews with Connecticut Workers. 127 interviews on microfiche. Rock Storage Microfiche HD8083 C7 A83x 1983.

 

Internet Resources:

    • ACTUP Oral History Project
      A collection of interviews with surviving members of the New York chapter of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power.

    • Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
      This resource, which can be viewed on the web or downloaded as a pdf, guides the reader to oral history techniques they may use with members of their family or community, and includes a bibliography and sample forms.

    • Farmerworker Movement Documentation Project: Oral Histories
      Includes both streaming audio and transcripts of oral history interviews recorded with members of the United Farmworkers and others key to the development of the movement to organize migrant farmworkers. NOTE: streaming audio on this site requires a Flash plugin

    • Underground Rhode Island
      Oral history project covering the underground arts scene in Rhode Island, organized and compiled by Prof. Paul Buhle and his students in the Department of American Civilization at Brown. Includes audio of the interviews, brief bios on the interviewees and supplementary information.

    • Brown University Policies and Procedures on Research Privacy
      Documents rules and procedures on research involving human subjects at Brown University.

*A selection of resources compiled by Brown Librarian Holly Snyder.