Skip to main content

PRIME

Industrial Classification Codes

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
NAICS is the standard code used by federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The NAICS system was adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system.

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
SIC was the original system for assigning standard codes for categories of business and industry activities (1987 is last version published).

NAICS to SIC code conversion tool
(LogisticsWorld)

 

 

 

 

 

Photo:William Murphy, infomatique. Taken 2007. Flickr

Ask Carina Cournoyer

Market and industry research information

Business Cases

Business, economic, and social data

For additional data and statistics, please see the  Library Resource Guide to Statistics and Data.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Current and historical; U.S. Department of Commerce; BEA provides data on U.S. domestic production, consumption, and investment; exports and imports; and national and domestic income and savings. BEA also provides data on U.S. regional, industry, and international accounts.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Current and historical; U.S. Department of Labor; BLS provides data on employment, prices, working conditions, productivity and technology. Data can be customized for download.

Census.gov
Vital demographic information to help you place industry and business data in context. Consider using American Factfinder as an easy way to use this vast collection of data.

Census Bureau Economic Programs
Dates vary; U.S. Census Bureau gateway provides access to data from various economic and business-related censuses, surveys, and other programs, including: Economic Census, County Business Patterns, Annual Survey of Manufactures, Foreign Trade. Industry snapshots from census data available at http://business.census.gov

CIA The World Factbook
CIA compiled data on countries and locations including geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, transnational issues, and reference maps.

Securities and Exchange (SEC)/EDGAR
Current; U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. (Industry data are classified by SIC code.)

ThomasNet
Includes the Thomas Register. Search/browse suppliers by product/services. Additional tools include CAD drawings. product catalogs, and purchasing tools.

ValueResources.com
Free guide to business valuation resources, industry and company information, economic data, and more

World Development Indicators
Published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Non-profit Sector information

GuideStar
Gathers and disseminates information about each single IRS-registered nonprofit organization, including the nonprofit's mission, legitimacy, impact, reputation, finances, programs, transparency, governa
nce.

NCCS (National Center for Charitable Statistics) Data Web 
1989-present: NCCS Data Web, maintained by the National Center for Charitable Statistics, offers a
weath of data about the non-profit sector in the United States. Data include the Busines Master File (BMF), which has descriptive data on organizations registered with the IRS; IRS Return Transaction Files (RTF), which contains financial data for organizations that file IRS Forms 990, Form 990-EZ, or Form 990-PF; and IRS Statistics of Income Sample Files (SOI), which has 300 variables for 501(c)(3) organizations.