Skip to main content

Political Science

Annual Review of Political Science

Annual Reviews publishes yearly review articles on topics of interest in a variety of subject areas. We have access to Annual Review of Political Science:

From 2006-present

From 1998-2005

Note that you can search through all subject areas covered in Annual Review by clicking from "This Journal" to "Journals" under the search box.

Scholarly journal articles and other literature

See also Grey Literature & Think Tanks in this guide.

See also Grey Literature & Think Tanks in this guide.

Elections & Legislative Information

For additional government information, please visit Dan's guides to Federal Government Information and Congressional Information.

The American Presidency Project   A collaborative effort from the University of California at Santa Barbara, these archives contain 104,106 documents related to the study of the Presidency. Includes voter turnout, financing elections, election documents, speeches, briefings, statements, and much more.

Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA)   A repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world.

For help getting started in ProQuest Congressional, see Quick Start Guide for ProQuest Congressional Digital Research Collection.

National Journal

Directories

Available through National Journal (see above)

The Almanac of American Politics: biographical information for all members of Congress and governors in addition to demographic information by district and state
Congressional and Federal Staff Directory: searchable and exportable directory of all Members of Congress, congressional staff, committee staff, federal agency and administration contacts

General Social Science databases

Academic Search Premier   
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

Social Sciences Citation Index   
1900-present; source for information in all major social sciences disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles which cite a known earlier article.

JSTOR   
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

Brown Archival & Manuscript Collections Online (BAMCO)
The manuscripts and archives of Brown University are a rich and diverse resource for students, faculty, and other researchers from a variety of disciplines. The collections are particularly strong in the following areas: American literature (especially poetry and drama), American political and diplomatic history, Rhode Island history, women's studies, history of education, and history of science. The collections are not limited to these areas, however, and new uses and interpretations of the materials are continually being discovered. The BAMCO site does not encompass all of the holdings of the Brown University Library. Interested researchers should consult the Collections A-Z page for further information on our holdings and for contact information. [This resource is publicly available.]

Project Muse 
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Includes links to JSTOR.

 Encycopedia of Social Measurement  
The Encyclopedia of Social Measurement captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Provides information on transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods. Covering all core social science disciplines, the 300+ articles of the Encyclopedia of Social Measurement not only present a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models, but also offer tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process.

 Encycopedia of Social Measurement  
The Encyclopedia of Social Measurement captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Provides information on transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods. Covering all core social science disciplines, the 300+ articles of the Encyclopedia of Social Measurement not only present a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models, but also offer tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process.