Skip to main content

Economics

Social Sciences Librarian

Bruce Boucek
Contact:
Bruce provides consultations and class sessions on social science research, data acquisition, analysis, visualization, and mapping.

Rockefeller Library, Rm 103
10 Prospect St., Providence, RI 02912
Office Location
(401) 863-7978
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page

The Economist

Loading

FT News podcasts

Loading

For additional data in the Social Sciences

For more data, visit the Social Sciences Statistics and Data guide. Data and statistics are arranged by subject, and include

American Federation of Labor (AFL) union label, ca. 1900.

Economic data

 Bureau of Economic Analysis
Current and historical; U.S. Department of Commerce; BEA provides data on U.S. domestic production, consumption, and investment; exports and imports; and national and domestic income and savings. BEA also provides data on U.S. regional, industry, and international accounts.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Current and historical; U.S. Department of Labor; BLS provides data on employment, prices, working conditions, productivity and technology. Data can be customized for download.

China Data Online 
1952-present; collection of statistical materials including: Monthly Statistics, National Statistics, Provincial Statistics, Monthly Industrial Data, Yearly Industrial Data, Statistics with Map & Charts, and Statistical Yearbooks.

Current Index to Statistics Extended Database  
1974-present; a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. The database indexes both journals and books.

FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
Historical; U.S. Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis; provides data on a number of different economic subjects for the United States. When used in connection with data contained in FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) and ALFRED (Archival Federal Reserve Data), FRASER allows the researcher to create uninterrupted data series by accessing sources previously available only in printed form and those currently available electronically (on FRED and ALFRED).

ICPSR   
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.
This data is not remotely accessible using the Off-Campus Access (Proxy) service. You must install the Brown University VPN client.

IMF eLibrary
Provides comprehensive access to International financial statistics (IFS), Balance of payments statistics (BOPS), Direction of trade statistics (DOTS), and Government finance statistics (GFS) databases. View and download predefined data reports or create and share your own views of IMF data.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Current and historical; NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Provides data sets about macroeconomics, industry, international trade, individual income and expenditure data, etc.

Oxford Economics  
Oxford Economics (formerly Oxford Economic Forecasting) provides quantitative analysis and economic forecasting to help businesses, governments, and international organisations make investment, policy, and market decisions. Web site includes country briefings; commodity price forecasts; news on economic developments in key markets; an economic forecast database; and a suite of programs to assist in development of forecast scenarios.
Global Economic Databank (A comprehensive forecast database of 190 (now 197)countries over a 55+ (now a 60)year rolling period, with data from 1980 and forecasts up to 25 years, includes quarterly data for 47 influential markets.
Global Industry Databank (Historical data and forecasts on over 100 industry sectors across 77 markets).
Global Trade Databank (Historical trends and forecasts of trade flows between 180 countries across 5 continents. [This product now also includes ourGlobal Trade by Product Databank, which covers key developed and developing economies and provides forecasts of bilateral export flows dis-aggregated by subsector.
Asian Cities & Regions (includes key economic and labor-market and industry variables).
For off-campus access to this resource use of the VPN is recommended. China Cities & Regions (includes historical data and 15 year forecasts for GDP, employment, incomes, consumer spending).
Europe Cities & Regions (Covers the EU27, Turkey, Russia, Norway, & Switzerland containing historical and 10 year forecast for GDP, 14 industries, employment ,incomes consumer spending, etc.).
Latin America Cities and Regions(includes annual forecasts for key economic, labor market and industry variables)
Africa Cities and Regions (Covers nearly 100 locations, in 43 countries throughout Africa) This service launched in the Fall, bringing out total city data service coverage to just over 3,000 cities.
North American Cities and Regions (Covers 37 metro areas and cities in North America, as well as all 50 states and Canadian provinces).
UK Regional Forecast (Provides detailed data, forecasts and analysis on a dozen UK regions, such as East Midlands, East of England, Wales, South West, Northern Ireland, Scotland, etc.).
UK Local Forecasts (Provides consistent quarterly data and forecasts for output and employment by (by sector) population, labor force, household income, etc.
For off-campus access to this resource use of the VPN is recommended.

ProQuest Business Collection  
Current; a comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong U.S. and international coverage in business and the social sciences.
This eresource is on trial through June 28, 2013. Please send feedback to Carina_Cournoyer@brown.edu.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 
Current; the Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

World Development Indicators
Published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Financial data

Yahoo! Finance
A consumer-focused resource that includes stock quotes, up to date news, portfolio management resources, international market data, and mortgage rates.

Specialized data resources

Demographic data

Census Bureau Economic Programs
Dates vary; U.S. Census Bureau gateway provides access to data from various economic and business-related censuses, surveys, and other programs, including: � Economic Census � County Business Patterns � Annual Survey of Manufactures � Foreign Trade Industry snapshots from census data available at http://business.census.gov

OECD Education Statistics  
Current; OECD Education Statistics consists of two parts. The UNESCO/OECD/EUROSTAT (UOE) Database on Education covers the outputs of educational institutions, the policy levers that shape educational outputs, the human and financial resources invested in education, structural characteristics of education systems, and the economic and social outcomes of education, learning and training throughout life. The second part is The Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) which is an internationally standardised assessment that was jointly developed by participating countries and administered to 15-year-olds in schools internationally. PISA assesses how far students near the end of compulsory education have acquired some of the knowledge and skills that are essential for full participation in society. In all cycles, the domains of reading, mathematical and scientific literacy are covered not merely in terms of mastery of the school curriculum, but in terms of important knowledge and skills needed in adult life.

OECD Health Statistics
Current; OECD Health Data is a source of comparable statistics on health and health care systems of the OECD economies. It enables health researchers and policy advisors in governments, the private sector and the academic community to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from cross-country comparisons of national health care systems. Many time series going back as far as 1960. Main fields covered include:
* Health Status * Health Care Resources * Health Care Utilisation * Expenditure on Health * Health Care Financing * Social Protection * Pharmaceutical Market * Non-medical Determinants of Health * Demographic References * Economic References

OECD Social and Welfare Statistics  
Current available; OECD Social and Welfare Statistics includes a dataset in the area of social expenditure, of which the main social policy areas are as follows: old age, survivors, incapacity-related benefits, health, family, active labour market programmes, unemployment, housing, and other social policy areas. It also includes income distribution, which covers comparable data on the distribution of household income to provide both a point of reference for judging the performance of any country and an opportunity to assess the role of common drivers as well as drivers that are country-specific. Benefits and Wages series addresses the complicated interactions of tax and benefit systems for different family types and labour market situations, and the Child Well-Being dataset compares 21 policy-focussed measures of child well-being in six areas, chosen to cover the major aspects of children’s lives: material well being; housing and environment; education; health and safety; risk behaviours; and quality of school life. Finally, Pensions at a Glance is covering all 34 OECD countries, and is designed to show future entitlements for workers who entered the labour market in 2008 and spend their entire working lives under the same set of rules.

SimplyMap
SimplyMapis an online data exploration and mapping tool that incorporates access to many different data sets including data from the US Census and business and marketing variables. These components include: Detailed Consumer Expenditure, Business & Employee Counts by Industry (by NAICS Code), Consumer Price Index, Quality of Life & Consumer Profiles, and Market Segments/Life Stages.
For first time users, please register with SimplyMap using your Brown email address and do so while you are connected to the internet via Brown University's network.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
Provides summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Other general databases in the Social Sciences

China Data Online 
1952-present; collection of statistical materials including: Monthly Statistics, National Statistics, Provincial Statistics, Monthly Industrial Data, Yearly Industrial Data, Statistics with Map & Charts, and Statistical Yearbooks.

Europa World Year Book 
Current; Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book. One of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. Includes comparative statistics and international organizations.

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research  
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.

Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (United Nations) 
Current; monthly economic statistics for most the countries and areas of the world. In addition, each month a different selection of special tables is presented showing annual and/or quarterly data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic long-term trends and developments. {This resource is publicly available.]

World Development Indicators  
Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.