Skip to main content

Economics

Social Sciences Librarian

Bruce Boucek
Contact:
Bruce provides consultations and class sessions on social science research, data acquisition, analysis, visualization, and mapping.

Rockefeller Library, Rm 103
10 Prospect St., Providence, RI 02912
Office Location
(401) 863-7978
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page

NYSE, 1929

Choosing Your Citation Manager

Citation Managers such as RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, and Mendeley are software tools for managing your citations. Citation managers will help you

  • Create and organize a personal research database
  • Download ciations from online databases
  • Format bibliographies and citations in papers, and
  • Share your references with others

Brown University Libraries support and provide training for RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, and Mendeley, but there are many more available.

Which citation manager should I use?

Manage Your Citations

Citations and Bibliographies

Citations provide information about a resource, which allows researchers to find the original material if they choose to access it. There are many different citation styles which reflect different interests and preferences of disciplines and often publications. If you are unsure which citation style to use, it is best to ask the person you are writing for, such as a professor or journal editor.

Why Should I Cite?

Author:

  • Provides information for the author to go back and find the sources during the writing process.
  • Keeps a record of all of the information you used or considered.
  • Helps provide context to your argument in a larger discussion.

Researcher:

  • Provides information to the researcher so he/she can better understand the author’s argument and the research.
  • Provides information for the researcher to be able to find other relevant sources by going to the bibliography or references page.

Publishing Resources