Skip to main content

International Relations Honors Program

Library resources for INTL 1910: Honors Thesis Preparation seminar, and INTL 1920 (2014-2015).

For More Statistics & Data...

This page contains some basic data sets used by scholars in International Relations.

For a much more comprehensive list of data and statistics of interest in IR and the Social Sciences, please see the Statistics & Data guide, found here.

Some basic data sets to start

China Data Online 
1952-present; collection of statistical materials including: Monthly Statistics, National Statistics, Provincial Statistics, Monthly Industrial Data, Yearly Industrial Data, Statistics with Map & Charts, and Statistical Yearbooks.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Data Services 
The EIU DataServices portfolio comprises the following global business databases: EIU Country Data, a comprehensive database of economic indicators and forecasts, covering more than 320 economic series for 150 countries, as well as 45 regional aggregates, running from 1980 and forecasting out five years; EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts, a powerful database of economic, demographic, consumption and industry data on 60 major countries, stretching back to 1990 and forward five years; EIU City Data, a global database of product prices and business costs providing over 330 prices levels on more than 160 products and services in 123 cities worldwide from 1990 to the present, and Combination of Country Data and Market Indicators, which is a combination of EIU Country Data and EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts.

Europa World Year Book 
Current; Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book. One of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. Includes comparative statistics and international organizations.

IndiaStat
This data bank provides national and state-level socio-economic statistics about India culled from various secondary level authentic sources. It includes statistics on topics such as population, health, higher education, economy, agricultural and industrial production, banking and financial institutions, crime and law, environment, foreign trade, labour and workforce, housing, media, energy and power, transport, urban-rural settlements, telecommunications, tourism, and other areas. Current and historical coverage varies, depending on the topic. To access, click on the "IP login" tab. 

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research  
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.

Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (United Nations) 
Current; monthly economic statistics for most the countries and areas of the world. In addition, each month a different selection of special tables is presented showing annual and/or quarterly data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic long-term trends and developments. {This resource is publicly available.]

OECD Health Statistics
Current; OECD Health Data is a source of comparable statistics on health and health care systems of the OECD economies. It enables health researchers and policy advisors in governments, the private sector and the academic community to carry out comparative analyses and draw lessons from cross-country comparisons of national health care systems. Many time series going back as far as 1960. Main fields covered include:
* Health Status * Health Care Resources * Health Care Utilisation * Expenditure on Health * Health Care Financing * Social Protection * Pharmaceutical Market * Non-medical Determinants of Health * Demographic References * Economic References

World Development Indicators  
Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

 

Government statistical sources