PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, and includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE for biomedical and public health articles. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources and has an international coverage.
1973-present; Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and other subject areas. This database contains information from more than 3,500 serials, books, conference proceedings, and patents.
he Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences, also known by its original name Regional Library of Medicine (BIREME, acronym in Portuguese), is a specialized center of the Pan American Health Organization World Health Organization (PAHO/WHO) oriented to technical cooperation in scientific health information. The headquarters of BIREME is located in Brazil, in the central campus of the Universidade Federal de São Paulo (UNIFESP) since its creation in 1967, according to agreement between PAHO and the Government of Brazil.
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online), is a bibliographic database and a model for cooperative electronic publishing in Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian countries. It contains 638 scientific journals from disciplines in the health and life sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
This database includes over 620 academic journals, covering health & life sciences, social sciences and humanities, mostly in Spanish or Portuguese. All articles are available full-text and the interface is available in Spanish, Portuguese, English and French.
The IDRC Digital Library provides the international research community with access to a current and comprehensive collection of research results and documents about a wide range of subjects related to international development.
The IDRC Digital Library is an open access repository of research results and documents generated by IDRC-funded projects, IDRC funding recipients, and IDRC staff.
The IDRC Digital Library includes
-Final technical reports (from IDRC projects)
-Articles written by IDRC-supported researchers and IDRC staff
-Books written by IDRC-supported researchers and IDRC staff
The eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) – which range from halving extreme poverty to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, all by the target date of 2015 – form a blueprint agreed to by all the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions.
This website provides access to country profiles; information about WHO projects, initiatives, activities, information products, and contacts; WHO publications; data and statistics sources; WHO programmes, partnerships and other projects.
"The statistical tool includes economic and social data from 195 countries and territories, with particular reference to children’s well-being. Users can choose their countries and indicators to build tables on the fly, or download the numbers into an Excel spreadsheet. These statistics are derived from UNICEF’s flagship publication, The State of the World’s Children." [provider description]
The KFF's global health gateway serves as an online clearinghouse for the latest data and information on the U.S. role in global health. It brings together original policy analysis and research from the Foundation, provides the new daily news synthesis, Daily Global Health Policy Report, tracks legislation through a new Policy Tracker, and features fact sheets, country-level data through Kaiser's Global Health Facts, and more. These resources are designed to offer a comprehensive picture of the U.S. global health policy landscape, highlighting key issues facing policymakers, journalists, non governmental organizations, and others working in the global health arena. The Foundation receives substantial support for the global health gateway and its work on global health policy from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.
Current; published by the World Bank, WDI contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.