Skip to main content

Sociology

Databases for Sociology

Related databases

Business, Entrepreneurship & Organizations

See the BEO research guide/ Finding articles for secondary resources related to organizations, business, entrepreneurship, and finance.

 

Race/ Culture

Anthropology Plus  
Early 19th century-present; as a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database, Anthropology Plus is a comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.

AnthroSource 
Current plus archive to 2006; AnthroSource is an online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public.

Abstracts in Anthropology  
2001-present; includes references to journal articles, miscellaneous papers,and books, arranged under sections on archaeology, ethnology, linguistics, and physical anthropology.

eHRAF World Cultures 
1700?-present; eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level
For assistance with searching, try the eHRAF User Guide or the video tutorial for eHRAF.

Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI)
1970-present; HAPI is an online source for information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Included are complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in over 400 key scholarly social science and humanities journals published worldwide.

 

Political/ Policy-related

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) 
1991-present; designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, books, journals, policy briefs, and proceedings from conferences.

International Political Science Abstracts 
1989-present; abstracts information from major journals in political science, including public law, and international relations.

PAIS International  
1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.

Policy File 
Current; indexes research and publications on public policy. Includes links to web resources.

 

Gender

Gender Studies Database 

1972-present; Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines the Women's Studies International database and Men's Studies databases to provide coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. It includes links to freely available and indexed full text articles and documents on the Web. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.

LGBT Life (formerly GLBT Life) 

1945-present; LGBT Life is a resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transexual and transgender issues. GLBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, including The Advocate, Lesbian News, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, etc. LGBT Life also indexes & abstracts the full run of many historically significant titles such as ONE, The Ladder, Mattachine Review, Christopher Street and Body Politic. In addition, grey literature including non-fiction titles, bibliographies, case studies, and dissertations is also represented. Disciplines covered by GLBT Life include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology and more.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000: Scholar's Edition 
Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. The resource, which examines perspectives on women's social movements from Colonial times to the present, was developed by Thomas Dublin and Kathryn Kish Sklar of the State University of New York at Binghamton in an internationally-renown website of the same name.

 

Public Health

See also libguides.brown.edu/globalhealth

PubMed   
1940s-present; PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. [This resource is publicly available.] The Library also has access to MEDLINE via Web of Knowledge and via Ovid Medline.

CINAHL    
1981-present; CINAHL provides indexing for nursing and allied health journals and other publications. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Global Health   
1973-present; Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and other subject areas. This database contains information from more than 3,500 serials, books, conference proceedings, and patents.

Grey Literature Report

"a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. The database platform is keyword searchable and serves as an archive for the cataloged reports."

General Social Science databases

Academic Search Premier   
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

Social Sciences Citation Index   
1900-present; source for information in all major social sciences disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles which cite a known earlier article.

JSTOR   
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

Brown Archival & Manuscript Collections Online (BAMCO)
The manuscripts and archives of Brown University are a rich and diverse resource for students, faculty, and other researchers from a variety of disciplines. The collections are particularly strong in the following areas: American literature (especially poetry and drama), American political and diplomatic history, Rhode Island history, women's studies, history of education, and history of science. The collections are not limited to these areas, however, and new uses and interpretations of the materials are continually being discovered. The BAMCO site does not encompass all of the holdings of the Brown University Library. Interested researchers should consult the Collections A-Z page for further information on our holdings and for contact information. [This resource is publicly available.]

Project Muse 
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Includes links to JSTOR.

 Encycopedia of Social Measurement  
The Encyclopedia of Social Measurement captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Provides information on transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods. Covering all core social science disciplines, the 300+ articles of the Encyclopedia of Social Measurement not only present a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models, but also offer tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process.