Skip to main content

Sociology

Social Sciences Librarian

NYT: Politics

Loading

BBC News: World

Loading

Reuters: Politics

Loading

CapitalWords.org

For every day Congress is in session, Capitol Words visualizes the most frequently used words in the Congressional Record, giving you an at-a-glance view of which issues lawmakers address on a daily, weekly, monthly and yearly basis.

US & World News

Access World News: Research Collection  
Access World News Research Collection is a full text news resource consisting over 7,000+ local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs. Provides comprehensive news and information on different perspectives on a wide variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, local government, international affairs and defense, laws, sports and much more. Offering a variety of perspectives from all over the world, the important news sources in this collection are ideal for comparing and contrasting views on both local and global issues.

LexisNexis Academic 
Current; said to be the world's largest full-text, online database, containing more than a billion full-text articles, citation abstracts, and documents. Emphasis is on current news and legal and business information.

For help in getting started, see Introduction to LexisNexis Video Tutorial.

ProQuest National Newspapers Expanded   
The ProQuest Newspapers Database contains 25+ newspapers to which the Library subscribes. List of Newspaper Subscriptions.

Virtual News Library/ Newscan  
Current; Eureka.cc, aka Virtual News Library (Newscan)is a database of news and current events that contains more than 115-million articles from over 2,500 daily newspapers, journals, magazines, news wires, tv transcripts and others covering more than 20 years. Sources from every state in the USA, from every province in Canada and from all over the world bring you the latest news in English, French, Spanish and other languages. For help in getting started, see Reference Guide for Eureka.cc.

Latin American Newsstand   
Current; Latin American Newsstand includes eight Brazilian newspapers and seven Mexican newspapers. Additionally, newspapers from Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and other Latin American countries give added coverage and perspective. To round out the coverage, Latin American Newsstand also contains regional magazines and wire services including Noticias Financieras financial newswire focusing on finance,technology, market analysis, and regional economic trends.

Ethnic NewsWatch and ENW: A History 
1980-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. ENW: A History covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.

Alternative Press Index
1969-present; international and interdisciplinary, Alternative Press Index provides access to nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change.

Historical News

America's Historical Newspapers   
1690-1876; provides access to more than 160 significant, historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1620-1820, and in additional subsequent bibliographies.

British Newspapers 1800-1900  
Searchable full text of full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from: established country or university towns; the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands; and Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. Penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also included.

Early American Newspapers. Series 1. 1690-1876.  
1690-1876; provides access to more than 160 significant, historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1620-1820, and in additional subsequent bibliographies.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 
Contains newspaper titles from 14 states between 1808-1980.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers 
These historical newspapers offer full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Please click on the links below to search each newspaper. To search more than one newspaper at the same time, click on one of your titles, then use the link for "News and Newspapers" to open the selection box and uncheck the boxes for any newspapers that you do not wish to search. Brown University Library subscribes to:

Historical Arizona Republican
Historical Atlanta Constitution
Atlanta Daily World
Historical Baltimore Afro-American                                                                             
Historical Boston Globe
Historical Chicago Defender
Historical Chicago Tribune
Historical Christian Science Monitor
Historical Detroit Free Press
Historical Guardian and Observer
Historical Los Angeles Times
Historical Nashville Tennesseean
Historical New York Amsterdam News
Historical New York Times
Historical Times of India
Historical Wall Street Journal
Historical Washington Post

Student election night party. November 2012. By roanokecollege, Flickr.

The Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-2007)

World Newspaper Archive: African Newspapers 1800-1922 
1800-1922; more than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers 1805-1902
1805-1922; provides more than 35 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere, Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.

World Newspaper Archive: South Asian Newspapers 
1864-1922; features titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and others. Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka).

 

Business News

Regional Business News  
1984-present; incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc. Full text is available from 1993-present.

ProQuest Business Collection  
Current; a comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong U.S. and international coverage in business and the social sciences.

Business Source Complete
Date varies; Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database. It contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. Disciplines covered include business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.