Skip to main content

ENGL0900 Critical Reading and Writing: The Academic Essay

Books, Articles, Newspapers, and More

When you are not sure where to start:

Use the Search box on the Library website. The results will include books, journal articles, and more. 

Select a Library Resource Guides to start looking for information on a given subject area.

Other search suggestions are listed below.

Selected Databases

The differences between Articles, Journals, and Databases are:

  • Articles are part of Journals.
  • Journals are made up of articles. They are found either by title or through Databases.
  • Databases are collections or articles or other scholarly content. They are found by title or subject.

 

Databases to start with:

Get Help

Chat - Text - Phone for quick answers to small questions.

  • General questions? Use this form or email rock@brown.edu
  • Special collections questions? hay@brown.edu
  • Archives questions? archives@brown.edu

For specific research questions

Subject Librarians

Maan Al Sahoui
Rockefeller Library Room A42
401-863-3394 
» email » 
profile

Middle Eastern Studies, South Asian Studies


Erin Anthony
Rockefeller Library Room A20
401-863-1559 
» email » 
profile

Applied Mathematics, Biostatistics, Mathematics, Public Health


Anna Arays
John Hay Library Room 306
401-863-2289 
» email » 
profile

Slavic Studies


Jennifer Betts
John Hay Library Room 317
401-863-6414 
» email » 
profile

University Archives


Bruce Boucek
Rockefeller Library Room 103
401-863-7978 
» email » 
profile

Economics, Earth, Environmental and Planetary Studies, Environmental Studies, Population Studies, Urban Studies


Karen Bouchard
Rockefeller Library Room A16; Office hours: 8:30-4:00
401-863-3218 
» email » 
profile

Anthropology, Archaeology and the Ancient World, Comparative Literature, History of Art and Architecture, Literary Arts, Public Humanities, Visual Art


Heather Cole
John Hay Library Room 306
401-863-1512 
» email » 
profile

English


Andrew Creamer
Rockefeller Library Room 234
401-863-9402 
» email » 
profile

Cognitive Sciences, Computer Science, Engineering, Psychology


Sarah Evelyn
Rockefeller Library Room A15
401-863-3468 
» email » 
profile

Business, Entrepreneurship, Organizations, Education, Gender Studies, Political Science, Sociology


Patricia Figueroa
John Hay Library Room 305
401-863-1836 
» email » 
profile

Africana Studies, Caribbean Studies, French Studies, Hispanic Studies, History (Iberia), History (Italy), History (Western Europe), International Relations, Italian Studies, Latin American Studies, Portuguese and Brazilian Studies


William Monroe
John Hay Library Room 306
401-863-2406 
» email » 
profile

Bio-ethics, Classics, Early Cultures, Egyptology & Ancient Western Asian Studies, History (Eastern European/Balkans), History (France), History (Germany), History (Western Europe), History of Mathematics, History of Science, Judaic Studies (Ancient & Medieval), Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Renaissance & Early Modern Studies


Elli Mylonas
Rockefeller Library Room 218
401-863-7231 
» email » 
profile

Modern Culture and Media, Modern Greek Studies


Richard Noble
Rockefeller Library Room 104A
401-863-1187 
» email » 
profile

History (Western Europe), Reference (John Hay Library)


Daniel O'Mahony
Rockefeller Library 
401-863-9445 
» email » 
profile

Government Information


Kelsey Sawyer
Rockefeller Library Room A20
401-863-9058 
» email » 
profile

Biomedical & Life Sciences, Chemistry, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Physics


Erika Sevetson
Champlin Library, Alpert Medical School Room A42
401-863-5150 
» email » 
profile

Medicine


Holly Snyder
John Hay Library Room 305 401-863-1515 » email » 
profile

Africana Studies, American Studies, Caribbean Studies, Center for the Study of Race & Ethnicity, History (American), History (British), History (Western Europe), History of Mathematics, History of Science, Judaic Studies (Modern), Science and Society


Laura Stokes
Orwig Music Library Room 108 401-863-3999 » email » 
profile

German Studies, Music, Theatre Arts and Performance Studies


Li Wang
Rockefeller Library Room 310 401-863-9344 » email » 
profile

Chinese Studies, Development Studies, East Asian Studies, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies