Skip to main content

Public Policy

Social Sciences Librarian

Annual Review of Political Science

Annual Reviews publishes yearly review articles on topics of interest in a variety of subject areas. We have access to Annual Review of Political Science:

From 2006-present                                                                              

From 1998-2008

Note that you can search through all subject areas covered in Annual Review by clicking from "This Journal" to "Journals" under the search box.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Vermont, March 2010. Photo: Ano Lobb, Flickr.

Annual Review of Political Science

Annual Reviews publishes yearly review articles on topics of interest in a variety of subject areas. We have access to Annual Review of Political Science:

From 2006-present

From 1998-2008

Note that you can search through all subject areas covered in Annual Review by clicking from "This Journal" to "Journals" under the search box.

Databases for Public Policy

Polling data and public opinion

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analys
is and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.


Gallup
Provides data-driven news based on U.S. and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research. Articles and videos cover news, politics, government, business, economy, behavioral economics, management

Eurobarometer 
From the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the EU, this site includes public opinion research on major topics concerning European citizenship.

Elections & Legislative Information

For additional government information, please visit Dan's guides to Federal Government Information and Congressional Information.

The American Presidency Project  
A collaborative effort from the University of California at Santa Barbara, these archives contain 104,106 documents related to the study of the Presidency. Includes voter turnout, financing elections, election documents, speeches, briefings, statements, and much more.

Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA)  
A repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world.

Leadership Directories

Leadership Congressional
Current; Leadership Directories' Congressional database includes all Member offices for the United States Senate and the United States House of Representatives, including Hill offices, state offices, and district offices, plus staff with legislative responsibilities and emails. It also includes all Congressional Committees and Subcommittees (including Standing, Select, and Joint), Leadership Organizations, and Congressional Support Agencies. In addition, it includes Leadership PAC offices and staff, congressional campaign offices and staff, plus more than 600 of the most popular and influential Congressional Caucuses, Task Forces, Boards, and Staff Associations. It also includes Congressional Officers.

Leadership Federal
Current; Leadership Directories' federal data can connect you to over 120,000 contacts – in Washington and beyond. Using the United States Government Manual as a guide, all 15 federal departments and 90 independent agencies are researched. Provides access to field offices, bureau branches, regional headquarters, national parks, and military installations, as well as over 170 U.S. diplomatic missions to foreign countries, U.S. ambassadors, and staff of federal departments and agencies with offices abroad. Includes information on over 1,200 Federal programs covering over 2,800 program managers and 171 Federal advisory committees covering over 3,000 committee members, as well as interactive Org Charts.

Declassified & security agency documents

The Vault (FBI)
The FBI's "electronic reading room" containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copy.
Included here are many new FBI files that have been released to the public but never added to this website; dozens of records previously posted on the site but removed as requests diminished; files from our previous electronic reading room, and new, previously unreleased files. Browse or search by keyword, topic, category or person.

Dissertations & theses

General Social Science databases

Encycopedia of Social Measurement  
The Encyclopedia of Social Measurement captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena. Provides information on transdisciplinary descriptions of quantitative and qualitative techniques, measurement, sampling, and statistical methods. Covering all core social science disciplines, the 300+ articles of the Encyclopedia of Social Measurement not only present a comprehensive summary of observational frameworks and mathematical models, but also offer tools, background information, qualitative methods, and guidelines for structuring the research process.