Pre-1980 North American Newspapers at the Brown University Library
The Brown University Library maintains collections of historical newspapers in a variety of formats. Below are links for Early American Newspapers, Series I (covering newspapers from the Colonial and Antebellum eras), the Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Database (a national collection of U.S. newspapers for the period from 1800 to 1900) and ProQuest Historical Newspapers (selected mainstream and African American titles covering the period from 1850 through the 20th century).
Anonymous. Reading the Papers. 1815. Anne S. K. Brown Military Collection.
Supplementing these subscription resources is Chronicling America (National Digital Newspapers Project), a partnership formed by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities for the purpose of creating a public repository of internet-accessible full text, searchable digital newspapers from across the nation. Current holdings in Chronicling America cover the period from 1862 through 1922, with the bulk of the material falling between 1880 and 1910. A list of available titles is provided. When completed, Chronicling America is anticipated to include newspapers from all 50 states published between 1836 and 1922. In the interim, the site provides a searchable directory of newspapers published in the United States between 1690 and the present. Another tool is NewspaperCat, a search interface for online newspapers created by the Smathers Libraries at the University of Florida.
NOTE: General information on current newspaper holdings at the Brown University Library is available on the Subject Guide for Newspapers.
To determine which newspapers the Brown Library has for individual cities, you can also search Classic Josiah. Change the type of search to Subject and type in your city, the state abbreviation in parentheses, and the word newspapers. For example: Charleston (S.C.) Newspapers
The Providence Journal is searchable online only back to the 1980s, but the Rhode Island Collection of the Providence Public Library includes a card file of subjects from the newspaper that goes back decades earlier.