A brief list of popular web sites from U.S. federal government agencies.
Last Updated: Jun 20, 2013
- Brown University Library Guide to Government Information
Provides guidance and explanations for finding government information with links to selected resources.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
A finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. (Government Printing Office)
Database from the National Library of Medicine that contains citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Provides access to U.S. government science information; the search engine covers over 55 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information; offers a gateway to over 2,100 scientific web sites.
U.S. government's official web portal intended to make it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. (General Services Administration)
- American FactFinder
Search tool from the U.S. Census Bureau that allows you to locate census data, create and customize tables and maps, and download data.
- Census Bureau
Provides data and publications from the decennial census of population and other Census Bureau programs.
- Census of Population and Housing Reports - 1790 to 2010
Includes PDF files of printed reports from the decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010.
Provides legislative and member information about the United States Congress. This web site is a beta site still being tested; eventually it will replace THOMAS.gov as the main web site from the Library of Congress for legislative information.
- FDsys (Federal Digital System)
Provides access to information from all three branches of the federal government, including popular sources such as the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, United States Code, congressional hearings, Budget of the United States, and more. This U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) authenticates and preserves these digital files for public use.
A searchable database of the Supreme Court decisions since 1893; part of the free legal information on the Internet provided by Thomson Reuters [not an official U.S. government web site].
Official web site of the U.S. government for finding and applying for federal grants.
- LC THOMAS
Library of Congress web site that makes federal legislative information freely available to the public. Includes bill text and status, roll call votes, member information, and links to other information. [LC intends to replace THOMAS with the Congress.gov web site, currently in beta testing.]
- Library of Congress
Provides access to the Library's catalogs, collections, digital content, and other information and links.
- National Archives and Records Administration
Provides catalogs and tools for searching NARA's collections, access to NARA's digital content and databases, and links to other archival resources.
- National Center for Health Statistics
Provides links to data, publications, and other information on health care, vital statistics, health expenditures, and other related topics.
- National Library of Medicine
Provides access to NLM catalogs and publications, data and statistics from NLM programs, and other links and information on medicine and health. PubMed
is a service of NLM.
Official web site of the U.S. government for public participation in the federal regulatory process. Allows users to search for proposed regulations and comment directly.
- Supreme Court of the United States
Provides the text of Supreme Court opinions from October 1991 (volume 502) to the present. Also provides the text of oral arguments (2000 to the present), docket information, biographies of the Justices, and other information about the Court.
- White House
Provides information from the White House and executive branch agencies, including blogs, photos/videos, speeches, reports, and other information. Provides links to presidential memoranda, executive orders, and proclamations.
- World Factbook (CIA)
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries around the world.
Click here to learn more about the FDLP.
Click here for a list of all Federal Depository Libraries in Rhode Island.