This is the "Home" page of the "Cognitive, Linguistic & Psychological Sciences Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cognitive, Linguistic & Psychological Sciences Research Guide   Tags: languages linguistics corpora psychology cognitive science  

Last Updated: May 26, 2015 URL: http://libguides.brown.edu/clps Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Quick Links

  • Josiah (Library Catalog)
    Search for print and electronic books, journals, media and other materials.
  • Library Discovery Tool
    From the search box at the top of the library homepage, you can search across physical and electronic books, articles, media, journals and databases available at Brown.
  • Google Scholar
    Search scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, abstracts and reports from all disciplines. To view link to Brown University Library resources when off-campus, click 'Settings', then 'Library links' and search for Brown University.
  • easyBorrow
    Use easyBorrow to get books not available at Brown from other libraries.
  • ILLiad
    System used to request articles not available at Brown. Faculty and graduate students may also use ILLiad to request electronic delivery of journal articles available in print on-campus in the Brown Libraries.

Electronic Resource Access

Users must authenticate both on-campus and off to gain access to licensed electronic resources.

On Campus: Use Brown's Secure Wireless Network.  Log-in with Brown username and password when prompted.

Off Campus: Log-in with Brown username and password when prompted.  Most of the library's licensed electronic resources utilize EZProxy; some require Virtual Private Network (VPN).  Exceptions noted in the resource description.  VPN is available from the Brown Software Catalog.  Click on the link below for more information on accessing the library's electronic resources from off-campus.

 

Welcome

Welcome to the online guide for Cognitive, Linguistic & Psychological Sciences.  In this guide you will find links to useful databases, books, journals and corpora for your research. 

Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.

Please feel free to contact me via email or phone for help with your research.

Brain (Coronal)

Source: UCLA Interactive Neuroscience Contributor: Carolyn Houser

New Library Resources

JoVE

The library recently added the Neuroscience section of the Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) to our subscription.  Brown University affiliates now have access to all Biology and Neuroscience content.

PsycExtra

Index and full text (where available) for psychology literature that exists outside of peer-review, including conference proceedings, legal documents, research reports, policy statements, standards, white papers and popular magazines.

  • Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)
    JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific journal that publishes experimental techniques in video format. Brown University subscription provides full access to JoVE Biology and Neuroscience content. Some content from the other sections is open access, and therefore freely available upon publication. JoVE articles and videos are available through PubMed Central 2 years after publication, although some may be available sooner.
  • PsycEXTRA  Icon  Icon  Icon
    PsycEXTRA® is a unique database that combines bibliographic records with full text professional and lay-audience literature such as legal testimony and amicus briefs, reports, conference materials, popular magazines, factsheets, grants, and web materials. It is a good resource for information and data for cutting-edge research and practice in the behavioral and social sciences and an archive of gray literature documenting psychology's development. The database contains publications such as technical and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, videos, press releases, and consumer brochures. There is a growing body of historical material in PsycEXTRA, including all issues of the APA Monitor to volume 1. The database also includes many important early works from the mid- to late 19th century, including vital conference presentations, that helped define and shape the study of psychology.

Education Librarian

Profile Image
Sarah Evelyn
Contact Info
For research support, request a one-on-one research consultation.
Send Email

Assoc. Univ. Librarian for Research and Outreach

Profile Image
Ned Quist
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Rockefeller Library
10 Prospect St.
Providence, RI 02912
(401) 863-5083
Room 121
Send Email
 

Upcoming Library Workshops

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Suggest a Purchase

Please provide as much information as possible.  When suggesting a book, indicate whether print or ebook is preferred.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip