This is the "Home" page of the "Early Cultures" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Early Cultures  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.brown.edu/early_cultures Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Specialist, Curator of Early Books

Profile Image
William S. Monroe
wmonroe@libraryh3lp.com/BULChat
 

Ask William Monroe

JavaScript is disabled. Chat requires JavaScript.
 

Individual Databases for Early Cultures

Annee Philologique     
1959-2003; subtitled A Critical and Analytical Bibliography of Greco-Latin Antiquity, L'Annee Philologique is an international, multi-lingual bibliography of all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, archaeology, history, philosophy, and other disciplines. Includes over 375,000 citations from about 1,500 periodicals and hundreds of monographic volumes. Like the print edition, the online version of L'Annee Philologique is published approximately two years behind.

Classical Latin Texts     
A full-text database of ca. 350 authors of Latin literature (virtually all classical literary texts up to A.D. 200, together with a few later texts (Servius, Porphyry, Justinian, Zeno)), as well as the Latin Vulgate, the Hebrew Bible, the Greek New Testament, the Septuagint, the Coptic New Testament, the King James Bible, the Revised Standard Bible, and Milton'sParadise Lost and Defensionem regiam. [This resource is publicly available.] (Rockefeller Library)

DYABOLA    
1956-present; books, book reviews, and journal articles in the disciplines of classics, prehistory and ancient history, archaeology, numismatics, epigraphy, and philology are indexed, including subject access based on the Realkatalog of the German Archaeological Institute. Most of the citations are to works not in English.

Perseus     
Current; resources for the study of ancient Greek literature, history, art, and archaeology.

PHI : Greek Documentary Texts 
1996 edition (CD-ROM #7); the Packard Humanities Institute CD-ROM #7 contains over 140,000 Greek inscriptions and over 50,000 papyri. A selection of coptic texts is also available. (Available on Computer 2 in the Rockefeller Library computing cluster.) (Rockefeller Library)

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG Digital Library)        
The TLG Digital Library now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453, in excess of 80 million words. It covers a wide range of disciplines such as classics, archaeology, history, art, history, philosophy, linguistics, and theology/religious studies. The new online Web version is updated regularly with new texts as they become available.(First-time users required to register a user name and password.) See:  TLG-L, discussion list for TLG users.

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL)        
The TLL is the largest Latin dictionary in the world, covering all extant Latin texts from antiquity to approximately 600 A.D. Includes the etymology of each Latin word and its development in the romance languages.

 

 

Databases Key

full text icon = Some full text
licensed icon = Licensed for Brown
audio icon = Audio Available
video icon = Video Available


Look for this button in search results to find full text -- find it


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip