The Medieval Studies Program at Brown is an interdisciplinary undergraduate program with faculty participation from many departments. The Program also aims to support activities for graduate students who work on the medieval period in these various departments.
This guide aims to provide an entry into various resources that Brown has to offer in medieval studies, as well as links to other resources that may be available.
Academic Search Premier
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.
Bibliography of the History of Art
1990-2007; covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Note that the database search includes the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009. The Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA), one of the predecessors of BHA, with records that cover 1975-1989, will be online by May 1. [This resource is publicly available.]
Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina
The BTL Online database provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts. Each year, the database is extended by the texts of the newly printed Latin editions of the Bibliotheca Teubneriana.
Dictionary of Old English: Old English Corpus
The Dictionary of Old English Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date. As such, the DOEC represents about three million words of Old English and another two million words of Latin.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Current; a reference site for students and educators synthesizing editorially reviewed websites and the Encyclopaedia Britannica.
Encyclopaedia of Islam
Current edition; includes the text and illustrations of Volumes I-XI and the Supplement(Volume XII) to the printed version of the Encyclopaedia of Islam. Also included are addenda & corrigenda, glossary and index of terms, index of proper names, and index of subjects.
1906-present; Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims.
International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMBO)
Current; IMBO is a comprehensive, current, international bibliography of more than 300,000 articles, review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. IMBO covers publications in over 30 languages, and many disciplines including Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies.To search, scroll down and click on the "Enter Databases" button. Select International Medieval Bibliography from the list.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
1859-present; Iter's Journals Database is an electronic bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).Iter citations include articles; bibliographies; catalogues; abstracts; and discographies. An online version of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world is now included.
Current; Brown University's online library catalog, provides access to information about books, periodicals, and other materials owned by the Brown libraries.
Library of Latin Texts: CLCLT
The Library of Latin Texts: CLCLT (sometimes called CETADOC) is the world's leading database for Latin texts. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions. This resource is part ofBrepols Latin Complete and may be cross-searched via the Cross-Database Search Tool.
Middle English Compendium
The Middle English Compendium is comprised of an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
2004 edition; an illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.
An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. Contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory matter, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes.
Migne's Patrologiae Gracae contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
1940-present; abstracts for books and journal articles on epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of various disciplines.
Books, journals, sound recordings, videos and manuscripts collected and catalogued by your library and libraries around the world. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.
Rockefeller Library, Room 432
Providence, RI 02912