This is the "Home" page of the "Renaissance & Early Modern Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Renaissance & Early Modern Studies  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.brown.edu/renaissance_studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Specialist, Curator of Early Books

Profile Image
William S. Monroe
wmonroe@libraryh3lp.com/BULChat
 

Ask William Monroe

JavaScript is disabled. Chat requires JavaScript.
 

Individual Databases for Renaissance & Early Modern Studies

Abstracting and Indexing:

Academic Search Premier   
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index  
1975-present; source for information in all arts and humanities disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles that cite a known earlier article.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials   
1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals   
1930-present; (with selected coverage back to late 19th century) the Avery Index treats architecture and related subjects, such as city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.

Bases de Datos del CSIC  
Created by the Center for Scientific Information and Documentation (CINDOC) for the Higher Council for Scientific Research (CSIC) in Spain, the Bases de Datos del CSIC contains three databases that index Spanish journals and conference papers.

  • ISOC - 1975-present; contains seventeen subdatabases in the social sciences and humanities. 

  • ICYT - 1979-present; contains ten subdatabases on science and technology.

  • IME - 1971-present; biomedicine.

Note: The search engine is not sensitive to accents and diacritics other than the tilde in the letter n. The letter n alone cannot act as a replacement. In such cases replace n with the truncation symbol *, or copy and paste this letter from a word processing program.

Bibliography of the History of Art 
1990-2007; covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Note that the database search includes the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009. The Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA), one of the predecessors of BHA, with records that cover 1975-1989, will be online by May 1. [This resource is publicly available.]

FRANCIS  
1984-present; through an international perspective, FRANCIS provides citations to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences. Topics include: art, psychology, information science, archaeology, ethnology, geography, business management, history of science and technology, history and science of religion, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and protohistory, sociology, education and more. Citations include journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and doctoral dissertations.

Historical Abstracts   
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.

Index Islamicus   
1906-present; Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance   
1859-present; Iter's Journals Database is an electronic bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).Iter citations include articles; bibliographies; catalogues; abstracts; and discographies. An online version of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world is now included.

MLA International Bibliography   
1926-present; the MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version of the bibliography contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.

Philosopher's Index  
1940-present; abstracts for books and journal articles on epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of various disciplines.

Web Of Science   
1900-present; The Web of Science includes the three ISI citation indexes: Arts and Humanities Citation IndexSocial Science Citation Index, and Science Citation Index.

Catalogs:

Josiah 
Current; Brown University's online library catalog, provides access to information about books, periodicals, and other materials owned by the Brown libraries.

WorldCat  
Books, journals, sound recordings, videos and manuscripts collected and catalogued by your library and libraries around the world. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias:

Atelier Historique de la Langue Francaise 
Full-text of seven historical dictionaries of the French language from the Middle Ages to the 19th century. (Available on Computer 2 in the Rockefeller computing cluster.)

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online   
Current; a reference site for students and educators synthesizing editorially reviewed websites and the Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Encyclopaedia of Islam   
Current edition; includes the text and illustrations of Volumes I-XI and the Supplement(Volume XII) to the printed version of the Encyclopaedia of Islam. Also included are addenda & corrigenda, glossary and index of terms, index of proper names, and index of subjects. 

Literature Resource Center (LRC)   
Current; provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. The LRC covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, and indexes publications such as Contemporary Literary CriticismDictionary of Literary Biography, andContemporary Authors.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography   
2004 edition; an illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.

Oxford English Dictionary   
The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). The OED is currently being revised, with the aim of producing a completely updated third edition by the year 2010. Draft material from the revision programme will also be published online, representing the latest progress towards the new edition. More revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter.

Oxford Reference   
Current; the core collection of Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by the Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the Core Collection. Click here for a list of the publications included.

Electronic Books:

ACLS Humanities Ebook Project   
A collection of full text scholarly works in history, archaeology, area studies and related fields, published between 1880 and the present. Some titles are available in XML and some can be Print-On-Demand for a fee.

Full Text:

ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)   
Over 2,600 texts (mostly scholarly editions) ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The powerful search and retrieval engine, PhiloLogic3, enables scholars to perform textual analysis, and to limit and extend both the searches and search results from various points of view.

BibleWorks 9 
2011 edition. BibleWorks is an electronic Bible concordance and morphological analysis program. It includes texts of the Hebrew O.T., Greek O.T. and N.T. and a wide range of English and modern foreign language texts. It also has Bible dictionaries and other aids. (Available on Computer 2 in the Rockefeller computing cluster)

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) Digital Edition   
Ongoing; based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, this resource serves as the foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)   
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts(1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Subjects include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) Text Creation Project   
Fully searchable electronic texts of 40,000 of the 100,000+ titles in Early English Books Online (EEBO) are being made available through this Text Creation Partnership. These editions are presented in a modern format that can be accessed by topic, by date, by type of material, and various other parameters for both instructional and research purposes.

Florentine Renaissance Resources: Online Catasto of 1427   
The Online Catasto is a World Wide Web searchable database of tax information for the city of Florence in 1427-29 (c. 10,000 records). It is based on the work of David Herlihy and Christiane Klapisch-Zuber, Principal Investigators, Census and Property Survey of Florentine Dominions in the Province of Tuscany, 1427-1480. [This resource is publicly available.]

Florentine Renaissance Resources: Online Tratte of Office Holders 1282-1532   
This site gives access to a database (c. 165,000 records) with information about office holders of the Florentine Republic during its 250-year history. The database was developed initially by Professor David Herlihy at Harvard and Brown Universities, and then completed under the direction of Professors R. Burr Litchfield and Anthony Molho at Brown University. An edition of the Tre Maggiori, Guild elections and Birth registrations is now available. [This resource is publicly available.]

Gallica 
Developed and maintained by the Biblioth�que nationale de France, Gallica is a vast and growing collection of digitized resources in French and other Western European languages. It currently offers over 100,000 digitized texts and 300,000 images. The emphasis of the site is on documents of historical or cultural value. Some sections of the site focus on literary collections such as Gallica classique, on specific themes such as Proust or utopia, or on a particular format such as periodicals. [This resource is publicly available.]

JSTOR   
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. 

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html. 
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

Library of Latin Texts: CLCLT   
The Library of Latin Texts: CLCLT (sometimes called CETADOC) is the world's leading database for Latin texts. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions. This resource is part ofBrepols Latin Complete and may be cross-searched via the Cross-Database Search Tool.

Past Masters   
Searchable collection of classic texts in philosophy, literature, and the sciences. Collections include: 
Aristotle: Complete Works
British Philosophy: 1600-1900
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Plato: Collected Dialogues
Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill
Yeats: Collected Letters

Women Writers Online   
1400-1850; full text collection of writing by women in English with currently about 200 texts and growing. Includes a wide range of subjects and genres, and all texts are transcribed in full, including front and back matter.

Image Resources:

ARTstor  
ARTstor is a digital library of over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images. REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED IN ORDER TO DOWNLOAD IMAGES. For help getting started see ARTstor HELP for Brown University users.

Luna Insight  
Web browser LUNA allows viewing and exporting of images, including the contents of the Brown University Instructional Image Collection. LUNA also provides free access to the Luna Commons, image resources contributed by other institutional users of this software.

 

Databases Key

full text icon = Some full text
licensed icon = Licensed for Brown
audio icon = Audio Available
video icon = Video Available


Look for this button in search results to find full text -- find it


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip