Online general reference resources
Last Updated: Nov 6, 2013
- CREDO Reference
Current; CREDO Reference is the world's largest online reference service, offering access to 622+ electronic reference books on most subjects, including dictionaries, biographical sources, quotations, medicine, literature, music, technology, and many other interdiscipinary sources.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Current; a reference site for students and educators synthesizing editorially reviewed websites and the Encyclopaedia Britannica.
- Encyclopedia Brunoniana
Brown University from A to Z by University Archivist, Martha Mitchell. [This resource is publicly available.]
- Facts on File Databases
An online version of Facts on File, these databases include the World News Digest from 1940-present, as well as Issues and Controversies and links to special reports.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). The OED is currently being revised, with the aim of producing a completely updated third edition by the year 2010. Draft material from the revision programme will also be published online, representing the latest progress towards the new edition. More revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter.
- Oxford Reference
Current; the core collection of Oxford Reference Online
brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by the Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series
, to enhance the coverage already provided by the Core Collection. Click here for a list of the publications included
- Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Ulrich's is a database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and can be useful in identifying where a specific journal may be indexed.