Skip to main content

ECON1300/EDUC1150 Education, the Economy and School Reform

Starting Point

A good place to start your research is with a general subject database, such as Academic Search Premier, as well as with subject specific databases, such as ERIC for Education research and ECON Lit for Economic research.

Current; multi-discipline, full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

The good news is that you can cross search multiple databases at once. In Academic Search Premier, above the search box click the link labeled Choose Databases

Now you can select which databases you want to search:

Education Research Databases

Recommended databases to start:

1966-present; direct access to The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC is a digital library of free education-related sources of interest to educators, researchers, and the general public, and consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature. 

Current; said to be the world's largest full-text, online database, containing more than a billion full-text articles, citation abstracts, and documents. Emphasis is on current news and legal and business information.

1900-present; source for information in all major social sciences disciplines. Useful for retrieving recent articles which cite a known earlier article.

1895-present; Comprehensive sociology research database contains abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals. Includes extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology.

Public Policy Resources

Recommended databases to start:

  • Policy File   full text icon     

    Current; indexes research and publications on public policy. Includes links to web resources.

  • CQ Researcher   full text icon     
    1991-present; explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from the environment, health, education and science, technology and social issues.

  • CQ Weekly     

    1983-present; pre-eminent resource for Congress-watchers who need non-partisan information on Capitol Hill.

  • International Political Science Abstracts   full text icon       mobile icon

    1989-present; abstracts information from major journals in political science, including public law, and international relations.

  • LexisNexis Academic   full text icon        mobile icon 

    Current; said to be the world's largest full-text, online database, containing more than a billion full-text articles, citation abstracts, and documents. Emphasis is on current news and legal and business information. For help in getting started, see Introduction to LexisNexis Video Tutorial.

  • ProQuest Congressional   full text icon     

    1789-present; formerly LexisNexis Congressional, these are retrospective collections of the publications of the U. S. Congress, including: 
    U.S. Congressional Hearings, 1824-2003
    U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1789-2003
    U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps
    U.S. Congressional Record, 1789-1997
    U.S. Congressional UnPubished Hearings, Part A and B
    For help getting started, see Quick Start Guide for ProQuest Congressional Digital Research Collection.

  • PAIS International   full text icon     

    1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.

What's What

Articles are part of Journals.

Journals are found either by title or through Databases.

Databases are found by title or subject.



Library Subject Guides are a good place to start looking for information. Each of the over 80 guides lists resources that are the best for a given subject.

Databases A-Z list is good if you know the name of the database you want to use. 

eJournals A-Z list is good if you want to jump directly into a journal you want to use. Especially good if you have a citation and are trying to find a specific, known article.

Off-Campus Access

Brown users must authenticate to gain access to licensed resources.