Skip to main content

Endnote

This guide offers instruction and information about the latest version of this popular citation manager available to the Brown community.

Adding references manually

To enter a references by hand: from the top menu bar, select References > New Reference

Select the appropriate Reference Type, such as Journal article, from the drop-down menu (important because it determines the fields that will show in the citation)

  • Remember to enter multiple author names on separate lines (with a hard return after each name).  
  • You can enter author names either last name first with a comma ("Smith, Jane") or first name first ("Jane Smith").
  • When entering a corporate or institutional author name like "Brown University" or "Centers for Disease Control", enter a comma after the name. This will prevent EndNote from inverting or abbreviating the name as it would for an individual author's.
  • When typing in the title of an item, do not use the hard return (Enter key).  Instead let EndNote wrap the text for you.

Close the record (To close, select File & Close Reference) and it will save automatically

Your record will be in the All References group by default. You can drag it into any group you want. The citation can be placed into multiple groups.

Adding references from online databases

Search the database via the web interface as you normally would. Select the references you want, then save or export them. Every database works a little differently, so check here for instructions for a particular database. To import from PubMed, please see our PubMed page

Most databases can export to EndNote with these general steps:

  1. Select the citations you want to save with an Add button or check box.
  2. Look for a Save or Export button.
  3. Choose "Save to EndNote" or "Export to your bibliographic software" or a similar option. In many cases you want the RIS format. Some databases may also allow you to batch multiple citations for export. 
  4. EndNote will usually recognize that your browser is sending citation data and open automatically to save it to your library.

Not all databases offer the direct export option. For those that don't you can use EndNote's import filters to transfer the reference data into your EndNote library. Here's how:

  1. Save the results you wish to keep in a text file
  2. From EndNote's File menu, choose Import
  3. Select the text file that contains your saved results
  4. From the Import Options menu, select Other Filters
  5. Select the filter that corresponds to the database your results came from
  6. Click the Import button

Adding references from the library discovery tool

Once you have found a book title using the library discover tool on the library home page click on Export Record and choose Export to Endnote.

Click OK when the pop-up window appears and the citation will be added to your unfiled folder. Check the "Do this automatically" button if you want this to be your default preference in your browser.

Searching a database from Endnote

You can search some databases and library catalogs online from within EndNote if the database is open to the public or it is available through the Brown Library.

This is often a useful way of adding references when you are conducting a known search that will have fairly limited set of results. It is not recomended for general searches of databases as all the citations pulled will be added to your library if you are in the "Integrated Library & Online Search Mode"

  • Select the Online Search Mode icon from the upper left-hand corner in EndNote, then conduct your search      
  • If the database or catalog you want is not listed click the "more" link and choose from the list in the pop-up window
  • Conduct your search then highlight the citations/references you want to save into EndNote
  • Copy the references by clicking the Copy to Local Library icon



Switch to the Local Library or Integrated Mode, select the Copied References folder and move the references to a group of your choice.