Skip to main content

Judaic Studies (Ancient & Medieval)

Subject Specialist, Curator of Early Books

Ask William Monroe

Individual Databases for Judaic Studies

Academic Search Premier   
Current; multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community. Includes full text coverage for just under 4,700 journals, including 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

Anchor Bible Dictionary 
1997 edition. Anchor Bible Dictionary CD-ROM includes all entries in all six volumes of the Anchor Bible Dictionary as well as photos, drawings and bibliographies, plus the King James and the New Revised Standard Version of the Bible. (Available on Computer 2)

Annee Philologique    
1959-2003; subtitled A Critical and Analytical Bibliography of Greco-Latin Antiquity, L'Annee Philologique is an international, multi-lingual bibliography of all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, archaeology, history, philosophy, and other disciplines. Includes over 375,000 citations from about 1,500 periodicals and hundreds of monographic volumes. Like the print edition, the online version of L'Annee Philologique is published approximately two years behind.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials   
1949-present; the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles in ATLASerials, from more than fifty journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Full text resources from the Religion and Philosophy Collection are also linked within this database.

BibleWorks 9 
2011 edition. BibleWorks is an electronic Bible concordance and morphological analysis program. It includes texts of the Hebrew O.T., Greek O.T. and N.T. and a wide range of English and modern foreign language texts. It also has Bible dictionaries and other aids. (Available on Computer 2 in the Rockefeller computing cluster)

Historical Abstracts   
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.

International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMBO)   
Current; IMBO is a comprehensive, current, international bibliography of more than 300,000 articles, review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. IMBO covers publications in over 30 languages, and many disciplines including Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies.To search, scroll down and click on the "Enter Databases" button. Select International Medieval Bibliography from the list.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG Digital Library)   
The TLG Digital Library now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453, in excess of 80 million words. It covers a wide range of disciplines such as classics, archaeology, history, art, history, philosophy, linguistics, and theology/religious studies. The new online Web version is updated regularly with new texts as they become available.(First-time users required to register a user name and password.) See:  TLG-L, discussion list for TLG users.

Databases Key

full text icon = Some full text
licensed icon = Licensed for Brown
audio icon = Audio Available
video icon = Video Available


Look for this button in search results to find full text -- find it