Art & Architecture

Academic Video Online includes every kind of material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. There are thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, andPeabody winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

Academic Video Online covers all disciplines and subject areas, with specific strengths in anthropology, counseling & therapy art, fashion & design, business & economics, diversity studies, documentary film, feature film, education, history, music & dance, news & current events, and theatre & drama. In addition, there is content in nursing, allied health, criminal justice, engineering, and science.

Subject areas to search individually:

Art & Design
Diversity
Health Sciences
History
Literature & Language
Music & Performing Arts
Psychology & Counseling
Science & Engineering
Social Sciences

The African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes Collection links high-quality visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The Collection includes photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, images of rock art, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveller's accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research.

From early topographical sketches and pioneers accounts, to photographs of Buffalo Bill and his Wild West stars, explore the fact and the fiction of westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century.

Backlist and out-of-print titles in art and architectural history content. This is a Mellon Grant funded project directed by Yale University Press with the goal of making this type of content more broadly available and easily discoverable.

1995-present for full text; indexing back to 1984. Art Full Text features full text articles, indexing and abstracting of an international array of publications. It is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more. More than simply a resource for art students and art historians, Art Full Text includes other fields, such as women's, media or cultural studies; history; anthropology; industrial design; and other related areas of study.

Art History Research net (AHRnet) (formerly Arts: Search) is an invaluable resource for research into the history of modern arts, architecture and design. It consists of five linked databases:

ReVIEW is a digitized, searchable versions of nineteenth and early twentieth-century art journals
Arts + Architecture ProFILES (AAP) is a biographical dictionary of modern artists, designers, architects, craftspeople and photographers
Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR) is a retrospective journal abstracting and indexing service
Research Sources which will focus in depth on a series of art and design history topics, the first of which is THE POSTER. It includes a 367-page Bibliographical and Internet Survey of the History of the Poster; an International Directory of Poster Collections; and digitisations of most of the significant books, exhibition catalogues and journals on the Poster published between the 1890s and the 1920s with biographical data on on the artists whose work is discussed or illustrated.
Research Sources: 1. British and Irish Architecture and Decorative and Applied Arts 1850s to the 1930s.

1929-1984; cummulates citations from volumes 1-32 of the printed Art Index. In addition to art and architecture, topics covered include advertising, antiques, archaeology, crafts, industrial design, motion pictures, museology, photography, and television.

ARTstor is a digital library of close to two million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences, and history of science with a set of tools to view,-present, and manage images.

1930-present; (with selected coverage back to late 19th century) the Avery Index treats architecture and related subjects, such as city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.

Current; this electronic edition reassembles all of the Tapestry in a continuous scrolling format, and-presents annotations of scholarship precisely keyed to relevant sections of the textile. At the heart of the editions-presentational mode lies a "seamless" reproduction of the Tapestry, which displays approximately seven feet of the work on screen at one time. Users may click on the forward or backward arrows to scroll the Tapestry in the desired direction, and may magnify any given section of the textile up to the level of the actual weave.

1975-2007; the Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Rpertoire international de la littrature de l'art (RILA) on its website. [This resource is publicly available.]

The Brown Digital Repository (BDR) is a place to gather, index, store, preserve, and make available digital assets produced via the scholarly, instructional, research, and administrative activities at Brown. Includes all of the collections in the Center for Digital Scholarship.

The Brown University Theses and Dissertations database includes over 15,000 records for dissertations written and submitted in fulfillment of Brown University degree requirements from 1893 to 2000. Included are undergraduate honors theses, master's theses, and doctoral dissertations. Records include the author's name, thesis title, degree awarded, year, granting department, and when available, thesis advisor. [This resource is publicly available.]

Current; a catalogue raisonne is the definitive, comprehensive, and annotated compilation of all the known works of an artist. Cahiers d'Art Institute Digital Catalogues Raisonnsees is a collection of the catalogues for several specific artists.

China, America and the Pacific explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives document this fascinating history.

1793-1980; China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980 is based on substantial collections of unique manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library in London, supplemented by additional sources from Cambridge University Library, the Church Missionary Society Archive, the Council for World Missions Library, Duke University, the National Archives at Kew, the Alexander Turnbull Library at the National Library of New Zealand and Yale Divinity Library. In addition includes a range of rare printed materials including missionary periodicals, atlases and books which help to contextualize the other sources.

Current; CREDO Reference is the world's largest online reference service, offering access to 854+ electronic reference books on most subjects, including dictionaries, biographical sources, quotations, medicine, literature, music, technology, and many other interdisciplinary sources.

Critical Collective is a digital archive and an art magazine devoted to the visual arts of South Asia. The resource covers all time periods from the ancient world to the-present, and includes articles about art history, cinema, photography, and gender studies, as well as museum studies, artists' profiles and interviews, exhibitions, and more.

Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provide digital access to large-scale maps of Rhode Island. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. These maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. A key is provided by the Sanborn Map Company. (Note: Because the key is a detailed file, it must be large so that you can view it completed. As a result, it may take a while for the key to load onto your computer screen.)

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Full Text is the correct name of this database. Clicking on the link will take you there.

EBSCO eBook Academic Subscription Collection is a growing ebook subscription package containing a large selection of multidisciplinary ebook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. It contains more than 113,000 titles; all titles are available with unlimited user access. Subject coverage includes art, business & economics, education, language arts & discipline, literary criticism, medicine, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, and technology & engineering.

EBSCOhost is the interface for databases the Library subscribes to from EBSCO Publishing. There are several, including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Religion and Philosophy Collection, and others. This link will take you a list of the databases. For help getting started see EBSCO Tutorials.

1972-present; the FIAF Databases Online is a group of databases from the International Federation of Film Archives, bringing together contributions from experts around the world dedicated to film preservation, cataloguing and documentation. The FIAF Databases include:
* International Index to Film Periodicals
* International Index to Television Periodicals
* List of Periodicals Indexed
* Treasures from the Film Archives
* Bibliography of FIAF Affiliates Publications
* International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections

The Films on Demand Partnership Collection is a collection of approximately 1,300 historical archival films and news videos browsable by both subject and producer.

From feast to famine, explore five centuries of primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.

Gale Ebooks is a collection of ebooks that includes encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Consists of six databases of information on the history of collecting and the provenance of individual works of art, gathered from sales catalogues, archival records, and museum files. Supplies a wealth of data drawn from British, French, and Netherlandish art sales catalogues of the nineteenth century and documents supplied by major European archives. [This resource is publicly accessible.]

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Google Scholar includes much of Brown's library materials as well. Look for the "FindIt@Brown" button.

c1550-1850; a unique collection of primary and secondary sources; artworks; photographs and maps for the study of travel.

Current; Grove Art Online is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to-present day, Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by over 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources.

The ICONCLASS system contains definitions of objects, persons, events, situations and abstract ideas. With these definitions one can 'describe' the subjects of visual images. 13,000 unique keywords help to locate the notations needed for describing or indexing a picture. [This resource is publicly available.]

The Index of Medieval Art is the largest database of medieval art, documenting nearly 80,000 works of art dating from the 1st century CE to 1550, without geographic limitation. It is based on the analog archive at Princeton University. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, including manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, and stained glass. The subject matter of each work is classified under one or more of 28,000 subject terms, and a full-text description accompanies each work. The online database-presently contains more than 100,000 images and nearly 50,000 bibliographic records covering iconography, art history, archaeology, religion, and classical studies.

This collection draws upon the unique manuscript archives of the National Library of Scotland. It provides a fully searchable online resource for studying the relationship between Britain and the British Empire in India in which the Scots played a unique and central role as traders, generals, missionaries, Viceroys, Governor-Generals and East India Company officials.

This collection weaves the story of India and Empire through the writings of Governor-Generals, Commander-in-Chiefs, Indian Princes, soldiers, traders, missionaries, explorers, historians and authors of literary works, indigo farmers and tea and coffee planters. It is composed of original manuscript material, comprising diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.

Especially strong for the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries this collection will be of particular interest to historians studying:

The British Indian Empire; government, administration and politics.
The relationship between Britain and the British Indian Empire.
The relationship between the British Indian Empire and Indian Princely States.
The Mysore and Maratha wars and other conflicts.
The role of the Scots in India.
The Indian Uprising.
Trade and Agriculture.

Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. 

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html. 
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.

Current; Kanopy is a video streaming collection of films from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others.

1850-1980's; this resource-presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveller. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.

Register for an account to unlock additional content.

London Low Life is a full text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.

Web browser LUNA allows viewing and exporting of images, including the contents of the Brown University Instructional Image Collection. LUNA also provides free access to the Luna Commons, image resources contributed by other institutional users of this software.

Current; MuseumsEtc shares innovation in museum practice worldwide, drawing on the international experience of hundreds of leading museums and galleries in such key areas as inclusion, interpretation, learning, management, new media, and visitor engagement.

The digital platform is specifically designed for use in academic and professional contexts. Museum and gallery professionals, university staff, museum studies departments, and university libraries will find the Collection of 60+ titles delivers unprecedented ease-of-use and knowledge access.

Prehistory to the-present; Oxford Art Online provides web access to the entire text of Grove Art and The Dictionary of Art along with several other art resources such as The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

1950-1975; Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.

1800-1900; this collection showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Explore an array of printed sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.

Ebook Central is an ebook platform that integrates the strengths of ebrary and EBL, plus adds new functionality. At the core of Ebook Central is an exhaustive selection of authoritative, scholarly content 790,000 titles and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers on one platform. An average of 100,000 newly published titles will be added each year.

Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.

SAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press, and contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 14,000 structures and places. These are mostly buildings, but as you explore SAH Archipedia you will also find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more. Currently, the content of SAH Archipedia is drawn from the award-winning book series, Buildings of the United States, and includes histories and thematic essays from fifteen of the published BUS volumes: Massachusetts (Metropolitan Boston), Rhode Island, Pennsylvania (Eastern and Western), the District of Columbia, Virginia (Tidewater and Piedmont), West Virginia, Michigan, Iowa, Colorado, Nevada, Alaska, Hawaii, Texas and Vermont. This cross-section of the country demonstrates the richness and diversity of architecture and building practice across many centuries, from mud brick to steel, from ancient cliff dwellings to contemporary office towers. The SAH Archipedia will continue to grow as new states are added.

1850-1950; explore domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America with Trade Catalogues and the American Home. This resource-presents highly illustrated primary source documents that highlight commercial tastes and consumer trends,

Current; a database on Indian art, V-IDEO-presents the worldviews of artists, critics, and others in the art world. Diverse reflections on art and life create a rich and multifaceted picture of the world. V-IDEO provides seven short videos on every featured artist. Six of them deal with different topics addressed through two or three questions. The second displays twenty artworks of the artist.

Victorian Popular Culture is a portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist sances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures.

1892-present; the Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society. In addition to the editorial content, all covers, advertisements and pictorial features have been captured as separate documents to allow for searching and discovery. For advertisements, the featured company and brand names have been assigned to the document records, and all image captions are captured to a high accuracy. Contributor names that appear in image credits, such as photographers, stylists and illustrators, are also indexed. You can also limit your search by journal editor.

Explore the phenomenon of world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first-century expos.

The combined library catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Athens, Cairo, Istanbul, Madrid, and Rome. Default interface is in German, but may be changed to English by clicking on the flag at the upper right. [This resource is publicly available.]