HIST0253 Religion, Politics, and Culture in America, 1865 to Present
Religion has played an undeniable role in the contemporary American cultural landscape. This course lends some perspective on the present by investigating the various and, at times, surprising role religion has played in the shaping of American Culture
Academic Video Online includes every kind of material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. There are thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, andPeabody winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Academic Video Online covers all disciplines and subject areas, with specific strengths in anthropology, counseling & therapy art, fashion & design, business & economics, diversity studies, documentary film, feature film, education, history, music & dance, news & current events, and theatre & drama. In addition, there is content in nursing, allied health, criminal justice, engineering, and science.
Current; Kanopy is a video streaming collection of films from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others.
Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s. It includes the most complete, authoritative versions of the highest quality from leading distributors. Showcasing this legendary period in film history, Silent Film Online provides unparalleled streaming access to some of the most important examples of the medium. The collection highlights works from legendary filmmakers such as Georges Mlis, Buster Keaton, Fritz Lang, Charles Chaplin, F.W. Murnau, Luis Buuel, Ernst Lubitsch, Victor Sjostrom, Erich von Stroheim, Carl T. Dreyer, Edwin S. Porter, and many others. And the perspective is global, delivering examples of the silent film movement from Germany, Britain, the Soviet Union, and France. Alongside the feature films and shorts is a selection of related documentaries.
1972-present; the FIAF Databases Online is a group of databases from the International Federation of Film Archives, bringing together contributions from experts around the world dedicated to film preservation, cataloguing and documentation. The FIAF Databases include: * International Index to Film Periodicals * International Index to Television Periodicals * List of Periodicals Indexed * Treasures from the Film Archives * Bibliography of FIAF Affiliates Publications * International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections
1976-2001; the Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. [This resource is publicly available.]
1967-present; RILM (Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale) Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. RILM is international in scope with materials from 150+ countries and in more than 200 languages. There are approximately a half million records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Conference proceedings in go back to 1835. Search RILM and RIPM together.