HIST0253 Religion, Politics, and Culture in America, 1865 to Present
Religion has played an undeniable role in the contemporary American cultural landscape. This course lends some perspective on the present by investigating the various and, at times, surprising role religion has played in the shaping of American Culture
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally beginning in spring 2012. The nineteenth century was the first great age of industrialization and technological innovation. It was an age of political revolution and reform, nationalism and nation building, the expansion of empire and colonialism, growing literacy and education, and the flowering of culture both popular and high. It was an age that witnessed the development of the power-driven printing press and the massive explosion of written material that dwarfs the output of the centuries that preceded it. Any undertaking that attempts to synthesize the vast array of nineteenth-century content may be at best only provisionally comprehensive.
Early 19th century to early 21st century; focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
"For well over a century, Muslims have lived, worked, and prayed in Brooklyn, making it a major center of Muslim life for New York City and the nation. Yet a gap in knowledge and understanding exists between many non-Muslim Americans and their fellow Muslim citizens and neighbors, a gap that has led to the marginalization and erasure of Muslim histories, diversity, and experiences from our national life." This new online resource is an attempt to redress that gap by using 50 oral history narratives of Muslim Brooklynites in connection with a timeline and integrated media.
1829-1922; the African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations including churches and social service agencies.
1690-1900; this expanding digital collection of early American newspapers is the most extensive resource of its kind. Currently featuring more than 2,000 titles from all 50 states and Washington, D.C., Early American Newspapers provides an unparalleled record of daily life in hundreds of diverse American communities. Through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative updates, letters, poetry, advertisements, election returns, matrimony and death notices, maps, cartoons, illustrations and more, these historical newspapers offer researchers essential local and national perspectives on American history, culture and daily life across three centuries. Advanced capabilities allow users to search or browse by date or era, by language, by place of publication or individual title. Users can easily view, magnify, print and save digital images of whole issues, pages and individual articles.
Provides access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
1740-1940; the American Periodicals database indexes periodicals from that time period, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Brown University Library subscribes to the following American newspaper titles: Historical Arizona Republican Historical Atlanta Constitution Atlanta Daily World Historical Baltimore Afro-American Historical Boston Globe Historical Chicago Defender Historical Chicago Tribune Historical Christian Science Monitor Historical Detroit Free Press Historical Los Angeles Times Historical Nashville Tennesseean Historical New York Amsterdam News Historical New York Times Historical Wall Street Journal Historical Washington Post These historical newspapers offer full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Please click on the links below to search each newspaper. To search more than one newspaper at the same time, click on one of your titles, then use the link for "News and Newspapers" to open the selection box and uncheck the boxes for any newspapers that you do not wish to search.
Includes newspapers from 43 states and the District of Columbia for the period from 1832 through 1922. The database can be browsed by state, or searched. Ethnic newspapers can be identified using the "All Digitized Newspapers" tab.
1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.
Brown alumna Martha Dickie Sharp (Pembroke 1926) and her husband Rev. Waitstill Sharp were co-founders of the Unitarian Service Committee during World War II. The collection documents their strenuous efforts throughout the course of the war to provide relief and assistance to thousands of refugees in Czechoslovakia and France, under the most dangerous and difficult of circumstances. Closely related materials are found in the Papers of Robert and Elisabeth Dexter
The Denison collection is comprised of biographical material collected by Rev. Frederic Denison on Baptists from Connecticut, Rhode Island and Massachusetts. The materials in the collection provide a wealth of information on Baptist conversion and spiritual life in the mid-19th century. Denison compiled these materials and contributed them to The Baptist Encyclopedia, edited by William Cathcart, which was published in Philadelphia, 1881. Digital surrogates of the original manuscripts are attached to the Inventory of this finding aid and will link to digital surrogates in the Brown Digital Repository.
Archival material documenting the founding of Alcoholics Anonymous and the role of religion in AA and similar 12-step self-help groups. Some portions of the collection have been scanned and attached to the finding aid; others must be viewed in the original at the Hay Library
Documents Barrett's experiences as the first openly gay person and one of the earliest women to be ordained a priest in the Episcopal Church. Traces Barrett's tumultuous path to ordination in the diocese of New York City from 1975 to 1977. Also included is extensive documentation of the worldwide reaction to Barrett's ordination, both within and without the Anglican Communion.