Skip to main content

HIST1551 American Urban History, 1870-1960

A survey with a specialized focus exploring American history from an urban frame of reference. Topics include the social consequences of the modern city, politics, reform, and federal-city relations.

RESEARCHING PROVIDENCE

This box provides a list of local libraries and archives, along with pertinent online resources, where material documenting the history of urban Providence can be discovered.

Gowdrey Library of House Histories (Providence Preservation Society)

Industrial Buildings Survey (Providence Preservation Society)

Providence City Archives

Rhode Island State Archives

Sidney S. Rider Collection (John Hay Library)

 

 

ONLINE FINDING AIDS & OTHER DIGITAL CONTENT

Libraries, archives, historical societies and other cultural entities are now collaborating in many states to create searchable repositories housing finding aids, images and other digital content for institutions in a given state.  Below are a few key digital repositories which may be useful for your research on urban places in the United States:

ARK-CAT:  Arkansas Records Catalog

OAC: Online Archive of California

CAO:  Connecticut Archives Online

PALMM:  Publication of Archival, Library and Museum Materials (Florida)

IHDC:  Iowa Heritage Digital Collections

Maine Memory Network

OhioLINK Finding Aid Repository

PACSCL:  Philadelphia Area Consortium of Special Collections Libraries (Pennsylvania)

RIAMCO:  Rhode Island Archival and Manuscript Collections Online   

TARO:  Texas Archival Resources Online