1740-1940; the American Periodicals database indexes periodicals from that time period, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
A digital collection that is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology, providing access to 100,000 journal articles of the 19th century.
1690-1900; this expanding digital collection of early American newspapers is the most extensive resource of its kind. Currently featuring more than 2,000 titles from all 50 states and Washington, D.C., Early American Newspapers provides an unparalleled record of daily life in hundreds of diverse American communities. Through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative updates, letters, poetry, advertisements, election returns, matrimony and death notices, maps, cartoons, illustrations and more, these historical newspapers offer researchers essential local and national perspectives on American history, culture and daily life across three centuries. Advanced capabilities allow users to search or browse by date or era, by language, by place of publication or individual title. Users can easily view, magnify, print and save digital images of whole issues, pages and individual articles.
Provides access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provide digital access to large-scale maps of Rhode Island. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. These maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. A key is provided by the Sanborn Map Company. (Note: Because the key is a detailed file, it must be large so that you can view it completed. As a result, it may take a while for the key to load onto your computer screen.)
An unusual compilation of more than a thousand diverse and interesting maps representing a wide variety of periods, topics and world geography. Do a "word" search of JOSIAH for "hay maps" to pull up a browsable list of titles; add the name of a country or region to focus your search on a particular geographical area. Some maps have been scanned and may be viewed in the Brown Digital Repository. Collection includes a broad array of Sanborn and other fire insurance maps for Rhode Island.