Allows researchers to view and compare archaeological assemblages and architectural plans from different archeological sites in the Chesapeake, Carolinas, and Caribbean during the Colonial and Ante-Bellum Periods. Analyze the lives of enslaved Africans and their descendants at unprecedented levels of detail. DAACS is a community resource, conceived and maintained in the Department of Archaeology at Monticello, in collaboration with research institutions and archaeologists working throughout the Atlantic World.
How could the author of the Declaration of the Independence own slaves? How could twenty percent of the population of the new United States, founded on the principles of liberty and equality, live in bondage? What was life like for enslaved people in the early republic? This online exhibition uses Monticello as a lens through which to examine these questions.
From about the 1690s until 1794, both free and enslaved Africans were buried in a 6.6-acre burial ground in Lower Manhattan, outside the boundaries of the settlement of New Amsterdam, later known as New York. Lost to history due to landfill and development, the grounds were rediscovered in 1991 as a consequence of the planned construction of a Federal office building. It is now operated by the National Park Service as a historic site.
"To create this database, a team of Mount Vernon staff and volunteers spent more than two years analyzing Washington’s papers and compiling references to the enslaved people who lived and worked on his plantation. " The database is hooked to the physical and virtual exhibition Lives Bound Together and to general information about Washington and slavery on the Mount Vernon website.
Pennsylvania, like other northern states, adopted a Gradual Abolition Act which did not actually free anyone. It applied only to children born after the date of the legislation, March 1, 1780, and left older slaves condemned to a lifetime of slavery. Even those born after March 1 were not set free. They were placed in a form of term-slavery known as indentured servitude. The Act of 1780 had loopholes of which owners took advantage and its provisions suffered from lax enforcement. This project explores the impact of an imperfect law in a northern state most often identified with the birth of the Abolition movement, through an exhibit and a database of freedom papers.
With this project, the Library of Virginia seeks to make antebellum records documenting African American life more accessible to the public by means of both digitization and modernized metadata. As of 2019, this project encompasses the Unknown No Longer database of Virginia documents that was initiated in 2011 by the Virginia Museum of History and Culture, thus centralizing the digital space for African American voices of Virginia.
A digital collection of "books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries", comprising "all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920." This collection is part of the larger Documenting the American South digital collection hosted by UNC Chapel Hill.
In the process of its investigation into the relationship of Georgetown University to slavery and the slave trade, the Georgetown Slavery, Memory and Reconciliation Initiative discovered and made contact with living descendants of the slaves once owned by the University and included their narratives in the process as it developed its project archive.