Subjects headings are cross-linked in JOSIAH and Classic JOSIAH so as to facilitate finding materials assigned the same subject headings. Here are some suggested Library of Congress Subject Headings useful for research in this class:
Animals -- 46 related subjects [NOTE: the "related subjects" represent sub-categories useful for refining a search]
Animals and civilization [NOTE: Can be broken down by geographic area]
Early 19th century-present; as a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database, Anthropology Plus is a comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.
Current plus archive to 2006; AnthroSource is an online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public.
1972-2015; through an international perspective, FRANCIS provides citations to interdisciplinary materials for the humanities and social sciences. Topics include art, psychology, information science, archaeology, ethnology, geography, business management, history of science and technology, history and science of religion, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and protohistory, sociology, education and more. Citations include journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and doctoral dissertations.
1975-present; this database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
1975-present; Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Humanities International Index provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from the American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html. If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.
EBSCO eBook Academic Subscription Collection is a growing ebook subscription package containing a large selection of multidisciplinary ebook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. It contains more than 113,000 titles; all titles are available with unlimited user access. Subject coverage includes art, business & economics, education, language arts & discipline, literary criticism, medicine, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, and technology & engineering.
Biologists Raymond and Lorna Coppinger (Hampshire College) present an overview of inbred and innate dog behaviors. Originally published in: V. L. Voith and P. L. Borchelt (eds.), Readings in Companion Animal Behavior , (Trenton, NJ: Veterinary Learning Systems, 1996), pp 9-18. Mounted to the web by the authors.