Skip to Main Content

Native American and Indigenous Studies

A compilation of Library and other resources at Brown that allow for exploration of the Indigenous experience of native peoples in North America and around the world

Digital Primary Documents

Some examples of primary documents that have been digitized as database collections:

Government Archives

Most government entities establish archives for the purpose of keeping records of the work performed by government, to keep track of citizens and the services provided to them by government, and to maintain the documents that testify to the unique history of that nation, state or locality.  Many such records include information on indigenous peoples.

Finding and Using Microfilm Resources at the Rockefeller Library

Many research collections at the Brown University Library are available for use only on microform -- a pre-digital technology for preserving, distributing and storing research materials on film, fiche or opaque card stock.  Microform collections require the use of a specialized machine reader which magnifies the image so as to render it readable.

Microform collections and machine readers are available to researchers on Level B of the Rockefeller Library.  A state of the art machine reader on Level B allows researchers to capture an image either as a printed paper copy, or as a digital image which can be stored on a USB memory stick.  Paper copies can be charged to your Brown card; for digital copies, you will need to bring your own memory stick.

Microform collections can be difficult to search successfully in the Library Catalog due to the format of the catalog record.  To identify microform collections in the holdings of the Brown University Library, we suggest that you try using BruKnow to search for "native american microfilm" (general search) or "[subject] microfilm" (for a more specific search). 

Below are listed a few microform collections of particular interest for American Indian Studies.

Material Culture

Online Finding Aids to Archival Collections

Special Collections at Brown