Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provide digital access to large-scale maps of Rhode Island. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. A Key is also provided.
With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more!
"Provides users with online mapping capability and access to published municipal data sets (including, but not limited to, zoning, parcels and building footprints)." Also includes he Providence GIS Map Gallery, an archive collection of maps including zoning, parcel and historic.
Updated, online version of the guide originally published in 2003 by the Providence Preservation Society and the American Institute of Architects, Rhode Island Chapter. Written by William Mack Woodward.
The library has a Rhode Island Room with many resources relating to Rhode Island history and architecture. This includes a subject file in card form to the Providence Journal where one may research topics from past years that haven't yet been indexed. Art/Archives Open Hours take place every Tuesday from 10:30-1:00, for all interested in visual research.
"Our collection currently contains more than 100,000 works of art and design dating from ancient times to today. Of these objects, 1,997 of them are on view in the museum now. 13,662 of them are available online." Publicly available.
"The Providence Foundation is a private sector, not-for-profit organization. It is supported by 140 of the leading companies and institutions in Rhode Island. The Foundation has been working for 40 years to revitalize downtown Providence and create a success story that will provide long term economic and social benefits to the citizens of Rhode Island."